Marshall wins place in Solheim Cup

Click to follow
The Independent Online
Scotland's Kathryn Marshall and Helen Alfredsson of Sweden were today handed wild-card places in the Solheim Cup team to face the United States at St Pierre on 20-22 September.

The news compensated the duo for missing out on the Compaq Open title in Sweden, after they lost in a play-off to Italy's Federica Dassu. Marshall, reserve for the last team two years ago in West Virginia, Lisa Hackney and Joanne Morley are three newcomers to the European side.

"Selecting the side was not as clean cut as it was two years ago, but it is a great team," Mickey Walker, the captain, said.

European Team (Solheim Cup, v United States, St Pierre, 20-22 Sept): M Walker (non-playing captain), H Alfredsson (Swe), L Davies (Eng), L Hackney (Eng), T Johnson (Eng), M-L de Lorenzi (Fra), K Marshall (Sco), J Morley (Eng), L Neumann (Swe), A Nicholas (Eng), C Nilsmark (Swe), D Reid (Sco), A Sorenstam (Swe).