Motor racing: Three decades of Formula One world champions

Click to follow
The Independent Online
1998: Mika Hakkinen (Fin, McLaren- Mercedes)

1997: Jacques Villeneuve (Can, Williams-Renault)

1996: Damon Hill (GB, Williams-Renault)

1995: Michael Schumacher (Ger, Benetton-Renault)

1994: Michael Schumacher (Ger, Benetton-Ford)

1993: Alain Prost (Fr, Williams-Renault)

1992: Nigel Mansell (GB, Williams-Renault)

1991: Ayrton Senna (Bra, McLaren-Honda)

1990: Ayrton Senna (Bra, McLaren- Honda)

1989: Alain Prost (Fr, McLaren-Honda)

1988: Ayrton Senna (Bra, McLaren- Honda)

1987: Nelson Piquet (Bra, Williams- Honda)

1986: Alain Prost (Fr, McLaren-TAG Porsche)

1985: Alain Prost (Fr, McLaren-TAG Porsche)

1984: Niki Lauda (Aut, McLaren-TAG Porsche)

1983: Nelson Piquet (Bra, Brabham-BMW)

1982: Keke Rosberg (Fin, Williams-Ford)

1981: Nelson Piquet (Bra, Brabham-Ford)

1980: Alan Jones (Aus, Williams-Ford)

1979: Jody Scheckter (SA, Ferrari)

1978: Mario Andretti (USA, Lotus-Ford)

1977: Niki Lauda (Aut, Ferrari)

1976: James Hunt (GB, McLaren-Ford)

1975: Niki Lauda (Aut, Ferrari)

1974: Emerson Fittipaldi (Bra, McLaren-Ford)

1973: Jackie Stewart (GB, Tyrrell-Ford)

1972: Emerson Fittipaldi (Bra, Lotus-Ford)

1971: Jackie Stewart (GB, Tyrrell-Ford)

1970: Jochen Rindt (Aut, Lotus-Ford)

1969: Jackie Stewart (GB, Matra-Ford)

1968: Graham Hill (GB, Lotus-Ford)