Abu Dhabi Grand Prix live: Nico Rosberg wins championship as Lewis Hamilton holds on to Grand Prix victory

Follow the latest from the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix as Hamilton and Rosberg battle for the world championship

Click to follow
The Independent Online

Nico Rosberg has been crowned the new Formula One world champion despite finishing the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix behind race winner Lewis Hamilton, securing the title by just five points over his Mercedes teammate. Follow the latest here.

  • Nico Rosberg crowned 2016 F1 world champion
  • Lewis Hamilton takes Abu Dhabi Grand Prix victory ahead of Rosberg
  • Rosberg holds on to claim second and win title by five points
  • Sebastian Vettel finishes third ahead of Max Verstappen
  • Hamilton attempted to back Rosberg into pack with top four split by 1.6 seconds
  • Rosberg wins his first world title to emulate his father, Keke, who won in 1982

Follow the live action below...


Please allow a moment for the blog to load...


Those others are the two Red Bulls and the two Ferraris, with Hamilton needing at least two of them to get in front of Rosberg in order for the Briton to have any hope of clinching a fourth world championship.

Hamilton struck the first blow by taking pole position ahead of Rosberg, but his Mercedes teammate will line up second on the grid and the prospects of Rosberg being passed look slim given he was over half-a-second faster than the third-placed Daniel Ricciardo.

We’ll bring you full coverage of the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix from 12:00 right here, but you can find out everything you need to know for the race below in the meantime.

What time does it start?

The Abu Dhabi Grand Prix will begin at 13:00 with lights out, with The Independent’s full coverage getting underway from midday.

Where can I watch it?

Both Channel 4 and Sky Sports F1 will show the race live. Channel 4 begin their coverage from 12:00 and run until 16:40, while Sky Sports F1 will start at the earlier time of 11:30 but end their coverage at 16:15.

You can also follow the race with in-depth coverage with the Independent.

How can Lewis Hamilton win the title?

  • Hamilton trails Rosberg by 12 points, meaning that if he wins the race, he needs Rosberg to finish fourth or worse.
  • If Hamilton finishes second, he need Rosberg to finish seventh or worse.
  • If Hamilton finishes third, he needs Rosberg to finish ninth or worse.
  • If Hamilton finishes fourth, he needs Rosberg to finish 11th or worse
  • If Hamilton finishes fifth or worse, he cannot win the title.

Starting grid

1 Lewis Hamilton (Gbr) Mercedes GP 1mins 38.755secs

2 Nico Rosberg (Ger) Mercedes GP 1:39.058

3 Daniel Ricciardo (Aus) Red Bull 1:39.589

4 Kimi Raikkonen (Fin) Ferrari 1:39.604

5 Sebastian Vettel (Ger) Ferrari 1:39.661

6 Max Verstappen (Ned) Red Bull 1:39.818

7 Nico Hulkenberg (Ger) Force India 1:40.501

8 Sergio Perez (Mex) Force India 1:40.519

9 Fernando Alonso (Spa) McLaren 1:41.106

10 Felipe Massa (Bra) Williams 1:41.213

11 Valtteri Bottas (Fin) Williams 1:41.084

12 Jenson Button (Gbr) McLaren 1:41.272

13 Esteban Gutierrez (Mex) Haas F1 1:41.480

14 Romain Grosjean (Fra) Haas F1 1:41.564

15 Jolyon Palmer (Gbr) Renault 1:41.820

16 Pascal Wehrlein (Ger) Manor Racing 1:41.995

17 Daniil Kvyat (Rus) Scuderia Toro Rosso 1:42.003

18 Kevin Magnussen (Den) Renault 1:42.142

19 Felipe Nasr (Bra) Sauber-Ferrari 1:42.247

20 Esteban Ocon (Fra) Manor Racing 1:42.286

21 Carlos Sainz (Spa) Scuderia Toro Rosso 1:42.393

22 Marcus Ericsson (Swe) Sauber-Ferrari 1:42.637