F1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix 2014 live: Lewis Hamilton heads towards second championship as Nico Rosberg has major engine troubles

Follow lap-by-lap updates from the Yas Marina circuit in Abu Dhabi as the two Mercedes team-mates battle to be crowned the 2014 world champion

Click to follow
The Independent Online

Welcome to The Independent's live coverage of the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, the final race of the 2014 season that sees Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg battle it out for the Drivers' Championship.

Rosberg put down a marker as he took pole in Saturday's qualifying session. While the German kept a cool head under intense pressure, Hamilton appeared ragged, and a mistake on his first run at pole followed by a slow second lap meant that Rosberg took top honours by nearly four-tenths of a second.

However, the points are awarded until Sunday, and most importantly it's double points this weekend. The brain child of Bernie Ecclestone come into effect, and it means that if Rosberg wins today's race, Hamilton must finish second otherwise Rosberg will claim his maiden F1 title.

Things get a little confusing thereafter, so we've broken it down for you. Find out the different race permutations by clicking here.

Follow the live race action below.


Please allow a moment for the blog to load...

1 Nico Rosberg (Ger) Mercedes GP 1min 40.480secs,

2 Lewis Hamilton(Gbr) Mercedes GP 1:40.866,

3 Valtteri Bottas(Fin) Williams 1:41.025,

4 Felipe Massa(Bra) Williams 1:41.119,

5 Daniil Kvyat(Rus) Scuderia Toro Rosso 1:41.908,

6 Jenson Button(Gbr) McLaren 1:41.964,

7 Kimi Raikkonen(Fin) Ferrari 1:42.236,

8 Fernando Alonso(Spa) Ferrari 1:42.866,

9 Kevin Magnussen(Den) McLaren 1:42.198,

10 Jean-Eric Vergne(Fra) Scuderia Toro Rosso 1:42.207,

11 Sergio Perez(Mex) Force India 1:42.239,

12 Nico Hulkenberg(Ger) Force India 1:42.384,

13 Adrian Sutil(Ger) Sauber-Ferrari 1:43.074,

14 Esteban Gutierrez(Mex)Sauber-Ferrari 1:42.819,

15 Pastor Maldonado(Ven)Lotus F1 Team 1:42.860,

16 Kamui Kobayashi(Jpn)Caterham 1:44.540,

17 Will Stevens(Gbr) Caterham 1:45.095

18 Romain Grosjean(Fra)Lotus F1 Team 1:42.768 + penalty

19 Daniel Ricciardo(Aus) Red Bull 1:41.267 + DQ

20 Sebastian Vettel(Ger) Red Bull 1:41.893 + DQ

Note: Romain Grosjean will start the race from 20th position, following the use of a sixth power unit.

Sebastian Vettel and Daniel Ricciardo will start the race from the back of the grid after being disqualified from qualifying.