F1 Russian Grand Prix 2014 live: The latest from Sochi as Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg battle it out once again

Follow the latest news and updates from Sochi where Lewis Hamilton is looking to win a fourth straight race in his quest for a second F1 world championship

Click to follow
The Independent Online

Welcome to The Independent's live coverage of the inaugural Formula One Russian Grand Prix, brought to you from the Black Sea coastal resort of Sochi.

Lewis Hamilton continued his domination of the race weekend as he took a comfortable victory to extend his championship lead to 17 points. Nico Rosberg drove an impressive recovery drive to take second after an massive lock-up at the second corner forced him to pit on the first lap.

Rosberg managed to complete 53 laps on one set of tyres to hold off Valterri Bottas for second place, with the Williams driver coming home in third.

Main talking points:

  • Lewis Hamilton wins the Russian Grand Prix
  • Nico Rosberg recovers from first lap pit-stop for second
  • Valterri Bottas finishes third ahead of Jenson Button
  • Drivers hold minute's silence before race in tribute to Jules Bianchi

Start 2.jpg
Nico Rosberg attempts to pass Lewis Hamilton on the first lap

Please allow a moment for the blog to load...


This is the first time F1 has come to Russia

Lewis Hamilton has won the last three races in Monza, Singapore and Japan

Hamilton leads Nico Rosberg by 10 points in the Drivers' Championship

Only one other driver has won a race this season other than the Mercedes pair in Daniel Ricciardo

Starting grid:

1 Lewis Hamilton (Gbr) Mercedes GP

2 Nico Rosberg(Ger) Mercedes GP

3 Valtteri Bottas(Fin) Williams

4 Jenson Button(Gbr) McLaren

5 Daniil Kvyat(Rus) Scuderia Toro Rosso

6 Daniel Ricciardo(Aus) Red Bull

7 Fernando Alonso(Spa) Ferrari

8 Kimi Raikkonen(Fin) Ferrari

9 Jean-Eric Vergne(Fra) Scuderia Toro Rosso

10 Sebastian Vettel(Ger) Red Bull

11 Kevin Magnussen (Den) McLaren

12 Sergio Perez(Mex) Force India

13 Esteban Gutierrez(Mex) Sauber-Ferrari

14 Adrian Sutil(Ger) Sauber-Ferrari

15 Romain Grosjean(Fra) Lotus F1 Team

16 Marcus Ericsson(Swe) Caterham

17 Nico Hulkenberg(Ger) Force India

18 Felipe Massa(Bra) Williams

19 Kamui Kobayashi(Jpn) Caterham

20 Pastor Maldonado(Ven) Lotus F1 Team

21 Max Chilton(Gbr) Marussia