Jones brothers claim British GT Championship victory

Click to follow
The Independent Online

The Avon Tyres British GT Championship claimed another motor-sporting first today (Sun) at Brands Hatch when twin brothers David and Godfrey Jones took championship victory in the final round; it’s not only the first British GT championship win shared by siblings but is believed also to be a UK first for twins.

The Jones brothers, 56 and from Newtown Linford in Leicestershire, clinched the crown by a single point thanks to their victory yesterday in round 13 and their third-place finish today at the wheel of their Team Preci-Spark Ascari KZ1R, which is prepared by Midlands-based Team Pyro. They scored three race wins during the season and a further six podium finishes.

Said Godfrey Jones: “I have been dreaming about this. I have dreamt good things and bad, it’s nice to have it over and that it’s gone the way we wanted it. We knew what we had to do… the one way that we could lose it was to not finish the race. The team has done a great job with the car and it’s worked out very well.”

“I think Godfrey drove superbly in the first half of the race,” said David. “He kept it on the pace and I just had to bring it home third, which I did.”

Today’s outright race winner was the Invitation Class Barwell Motorsport Ginetta of Phil Quaife and Leo Machitski, which stole victory from the Allan Simonsen/Hector Lester Rosso Verde Ferrari two laps from the end after it had led all the way from the pole, Simonsen lowering his own circuit lap record as he went. Lester finished just eight-tenths behind to take maximum points and secure championship second.

The GT4 class was won for the 11th time this season by the Team WFR Ginetta of Nigel Moore and (new class champion) Jody Firth.

Avon Tyres British GT Championship

Provisional results round 14

Brands Hatch 20/9/2009

39 laps / 89.73 miles

1 INV Barwell Ginetta G50Z, Phil Quaife/Leo Machitski 1h 01.216s

2 GT3 Rosso Verde Ferrari 430, Allan Simonsen/Hector Lester +0.821s

3 GT3 VRS Ferrari 430, Adam Wilcox/Phil Burton +17.209s

4 GT3 Preci-Spark Ascari KZR1, David Jones/Godfrey Jones +36.379s

5 GT3 Beechdean Aston Martin DBRS9, Andrew Howard/Jamie Smyth +38.558s

6 GT3 RPM Ford GT, Philip Walker/Alex Mortimer +51.962s

7 GT3 MTECH Ferrari 430, Duncan Cameron/Mike Edmonds +52.326s

8 GT3 Chad Ferrari 430, Chris Hyman/Paul Warren +52.448s

9 INV KTM X-BOW, Reinhard Kofler 38 laps

10 GT4 WFR Ginetta G50, Jody Firth/Nigel Moore 37 laps

11 INV MBR Morgan Aero 8, Howard Spooner 36 laps

12 SS Piranha Motorsport Lotus 2-11, Chris Bialan/Simon Mason 36 laps

13 GT4 Stark Ginetta G50, Ian Stinton/Gary Simms 36 laps

14 GT3 ABG Dodge Viper, Aaron Scott/Craig Wilkins 28 laps

Fastest laps

GT3 Simonsen 1m 29.940s / 92.09mph REC

INV Machitski 1m 30.460s / 91.56mph

GT4 Moore 1m 36.440s / 85.88mph

SS Mason 1m 37.982s / 84.53mph

Provisional final championship placings


=1 Jones & Jones 87 points; 3 Lester 86; 4 Simonsen 76; =5 Wilkins & Scott 69 etc.


1 Firth 76; 2 Moore 67; 3 Stinton 48 etc.