What time does the Malaysian Grand Prix start? Full race details and TV coverage times

A look ahead to this weekend's F1 grand prix at the Sepang International Circuit in Malaysia

Click to follow

The second grand prix of the 2015 Formula One calendar takes place this weekend at the Sepang International Circuit in Malaysia, where Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg are likely to resume their battle at the front of the grid.

The Mercedes pair were in a league of their own in the season-opener in Melbourne two weekends’ ago as Hamilton continued his impressive 2014 form with victory in the Australian Grand Prix.

However, the major talking point was about the reliability of the cars, or more accurately the lack of reliability. The field was already running at a reduced number throughout the weekend as recently saved Manor-Marussia failed to make it out of the pits, before a string of withdrawals and retirements hit Sunday’s race.


Williams driver Valterri Bottas was forced to pull out of Sunday’s proceedings as he suffered a back injury during qualifying, and both Daniil Kvyat of Red Bull and McLaren-Honda’s Kevin Magnussen were forced to retire on their way to the grid after suffering mechanical troubles. Magnussen, having been dropped at the end of last season, was only racing because Fernando Alonso had suffered a concussion during a pre-season crash.

Lewis Hamilton won the 2014 Malaysian Grand Prix

However, the action in Malaysia is expected to step up a notch with teams having another fortnight to improve any issues that they went onto the season with. Alonso has been cleared to return to the grid providing he comes through a straight-forward FIA test on Thursday, while Bottas has also been passed fit to compete.

Last season, Hamilton completed a whitewash across the weekend as he claimed pole, race victory and fastest lap ahead of Rosberg and Sebastian Vettel, then of Red Bull.


Friday’s running features as always two practice sessions, the first of which gets underway at 2am UMT and runs until 3.30am UMT. Second practice is due to get underway at 6am UMT and will run until 7.30am.

Saturday morning features third practice which gets underway at 6am UMT and gives the teams a final chance to perfect their set-up before qualifying, which starts at 9am UMT.

Hamilton celebrates winning last season's race in Malaysia

On Sunday, it will be lights out at 8am, but don’t get caught out as the clocks go forward an hour as British Summer Time kicks in.


Both the BBC and Sky Sports F1 will be screening live coverage of the Malaysian Grand Prix weekend at the following times:

Friday first practice: Sky Sports F1 at 1.45am UMT and BBC2 at 1.55am UMT.

Friday second practice: Sky Sports F1 at 5.45am UMT and BBC2 at 5.55am UMT.

Saturday third practice: Sky Sports F1 at 5.45am UMT and BBC2 at 5.55am UMT.

Saturday qualifying: Sky Sports F1 at 8am UMT and BBC1 at 8am UMT.

Sunday race: Sky Sports F1 at 5.30am BST and BBC1 at 7am BST.


1. Lewis Hamilton(Mercedes)  – 25 points

2. Nico Rosberg(Mercedes)  – 18

3. Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari) - 15

4. Felipe Massa (Williams) – 12

5. Felipe Nasr (Sauber) – 10

6. Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull) – 8

7. Nico Hulkenberg(Force India)  – 6

8. Marcus Ericsson (Sauber)  – 4

9. Carlos Sainz Jr (Toro Rosso) – 2

10. Sergio Perez (Force India) - 1