MTECH team victorious at Silverstone

Click to follow
The Independent Online

The MTECH pairing of Matt Griffin and Duncan Cameron claimed a popular maiden win in the Avon Tyres British GT Championship at Silverstone yesterday, their Ferrari 430 Scuderia posting a victory margin of half a minute after two hours of flat-out racing.

ABG Motorsport drivers Aaron Scott and Craig Wilkins drove their Viper to second to keep alive their championship hopes.

Gearbox problems prevented championship leaders David and Godfrey Jones from finishing; their title race lead is cut to a single point with only two rounds remaining.

Avon Tyres British GT Championship Provisional results round 12

Silverstone 16/8/2009, (82 laps / 184.42 miles)

1 GT3 MTECH Ferrari 430, Matt Griffin/Duncan Cameron 2h 1m 26.918s / 91.10mph

2 GT3 ABG Dodge Viper, Aaron Scott/Craig Wilkins +30.503s

3 GT3 RPM Ford GT, Alex Mortimer/Philip Walker +48.472s

4 GT3 VRS Ferrari 430, Adam Wilcox/Phil Burton +49.327s

5 GT3 Beechdean Aston Martin DBRS9, Andrew Howard/Jamie Smith +1m 15.434s

6 INV Barwell Ginetta G50Z, Oliver Bryant/Piers Johnson 79 laps

7 GT3 Rosso Verde Ferrari 430, Allan Simonsen/Hector Lester 78 laps

8 GT4 WFR Ginetta G50, Jody Firth/Nigel Moore 76 laps

9 GT4 Speedworks Ginetta G50, Richard Sykes/Christian Dick 76 laps

10 GT4 Stark Ginetta G50, Ian Stinton/Neil Clark 74 laps

11 GT3 Preci-Spark Ascari KZR1, David Jones/Godfrey Jones 61 laps

Not classified

GT3 Chad Ferrari 430, Chris Hyman/Paul Warren 15 laps

Fastest laps

GT3 Simonsen 1m 25.599s / 94.58mph

GT4 Moore 1m 32.050s / 87.95mph

Provisional championship standings


1= David & Godfrey Jones 71 points; 3 Lester 70; =4 Wilkins & Scott 63; 6 Simonsen 60 etc.


1 Firth 66; 2 Moore 57; 3 Stinton 40 etc.