Click to follow
The Independent Online
Twenty-five footballers to enter the International Football Hall of Fame, supported by the Independent, the Independent on Sunday and the Professional Footballers' Association, were announced last week. The first five were elected by more than 500,000 people from 120 countries. The next 20 were elected by a panel of international football legends and sports writers. Remarkably, three goalkeepers were among those chosen, Lev Yashin, Gordon Banks and Dino Zoff. Here are the 25 listed in order of votes received:

1 Pele

2 George Best

3 Bobby Charlton

4 Johan Cruyff

5 Bobby Moore

6 Franz Beckenbauer

7 Alfredo di Stefano

8 Stanley Matthews

9 Michel Platini

10 Ferenc Puskas

11 Eusebio

12 Lev Yashin

13 Garrincha

14 Duncan Edwards

15 Gordon Banks

16 John Charles

17 Kenny Dalglish

18 Tom Finney

19 Gerd Muller

20 Roberto Rivelino

21 Marco Van Basten

22 Dino Zoff

23 Jairzinho

24 Zico

25 Billy Wright


We asked you the readers to pick your favourite all-time dream team from a list of 250 players. The team had to comprise a goalkeeper, four defenders, three midfielders, and three forwards. The winning team is comprises the top-voted goal keeper, the top four defenders, top three midfielders and top three forwards.

Winning team: Goalkeeper Gordon Banks. Defenders Franz Beckenbauer, Carlos Alberto, Bobby Moore, Alan Hansen. Midfielders Johan Cruyff, Bobby Charlton, Michel Platini. Forwards Pele, George Best, Eusebio.

The five winners listed below will share the pounds 1,500 prize between them.

Mr L Pudifet, St Albans; Mr C Elliot, Belfast; Mr I Bishop, Bangor, Co Down; Mr R Collier, London; Mr R Chidlow, Edinburgh.