Click to follow
The Independent Online
The English Cricket Board, which will come into effect on 1 January, has appointed five officers responsible for the running of the new body. David Morgan, the chairman of the working party which set up the board, has been appointed as deputy chairman of the ECB and chairman of the First Class Forum. David Acfield has been appointed chairman of the Cricket Advisory Committee, Mike Murray will chair the Finance Advisory Committee and Brian Downing is chairman of the ECB's Marketing Advisory Committee.

The former Lancashire chairman, Bob Bennett, has been elected chairman of the England Management Advisory Committee.

Kent have confirmed the appointment of Steve Marsh as their captain, after the 35-year-old led them to fourth place in the Championship last season in the absence of the injured Mark Benson.