NON-LEAGUE NOTEBOOK : Walker turns back the clock

Click to follow
This is the non-League fraternity's Wembley double-header weekend, with the FA Vase final between Arlesey Town and Oxford City tomorrow followed by, at Sunday lunchtime, Woking against Kidderminster Harriers in the FA Trophy final.

Playing beneath the twin towers will not be a novelty for Woking or Kidderminster: the Surrey side are the Trophy holders while Harriers won the tournament in 1987 and were runners-up four years later. Arlesey, from Bedfordshire, are making their Wembley debut - as are their opponents who, as recently as 1990, were not members of a senior league, following their eviction from their historic White House Ground in 1988. They are now thriving at a new stadium, however, and have climbed from the Diadora League Third Division to the First in successive seasons.

On Sunday, Woking's top scorer, Clive Walker, will be the focus of attention: the 37-year-old former Chelsea forward has scored in every round so far. His team are seeking to become the first since Scarborough in 1977 to retain the Trophy.

Five players involved in Sunday's final are included in the England semi- professional squad to face the Highland League at Clarence Park, St Albans, a week today. The Scottish party includes Doug Rougvie, the 39-year-old former Aberdeen and Chelsea defender, who now plays for the Highland League champions, Huntly.

FOOTBALL ASSOCIATION SQUAD (Representative match v Press and Journal Highland League, Friday 19 May, St Albans City FC): S Farrelly (Macclesfield), Batty (Woking); Webb, Forsyth, Humphreys (all Kidderminster), K Brown (Woking), Reid (Altrincham), Holden, Ashby (both Kettering), Venables (Stevenage), Stott, R Carter (both Bromsgrove), M McDonald (Macclesfield), I Richardson (Dagenham and Redbridge), May (Stafford), Ross (Marine).

HIGHLAND LEAGUE SQUAD: Hinchcliffe (Elgin), Pirie (Lossiemouth); McArthur (Elgin), Milne (Fraserburgh), Gibson, Will (both Keith), Rougvie, De Barros, Gray, Lennox, Thomson, M Stewart, G Whyte (all Huntly), D Whyte, Baxter (both Cove Rangers), Drummond (Fort William), Mackay (Brora), Murray (Wick), I Stewart (Lossiemouth).