GB Olympic football team: Q & A

Q: Who is eligible to play?

A: Different rules apply for the men's and women's tournaments. In the case of the men, countries are represented by an Under-23 team - though three over-age players are allowed. There are no age limits for the women's tournament.

For the British team, players from England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland will all be eligible to appear, though this has been a controversial subject.

Q: How so?

A: The Scottish, Welsh and Irish Football Associations are opposed to a combined GB team and feel that allowing their players to feature would compromise their independent status within FIFA, though they have accepted (publicly or privately) that they will be powerless to prevent their players taking part should they so wish.

The only player who has so far ruled out playing is Julie Fleeting, a prolific striker for the Arsenal and Scotland women's teams. Club and country strike partner Kim Little, though, is keen to be involved.

On the men's side, Wales starlets Gareth Bale and Aaron Ramsey hope to play, with Ramsey saying last month: "If given the opportunity, it's one that I'd like to take. I've heard that Gareth has the same feelings towards that."

Q: Why is the English FA in charge of picking the teams?

A: The responsibility ultimately falls to the British Olympic Association but they delegate this on a sport-by-sport basis to governing bodies. Generally these have responsibility for the sport across the United Kingdom (for example UK Athletics, British Cycling), but there are occasions when the organisation for one country takes overall charge.

In the case of England Hockey or Scotland's Royal Caledonian Curling Club, this is a question of resources, but the BOA's hand has been forced in football by the other countries' opposition to the project.

Q: With all this fuss, are Great Britain generally any good in the tournament?

A: Britain won three of the first four men's tournaments - in 1904, 1908 and 1912 - but competed without further success in every Games up until Munich 1972 (apart from Los Angeles 1932, when the sport did not appear). In 1974, the FA scrapped the distinction between amateur and professional players and this year will be the team's first appearance since then.

Women's football only made its first appearance at the 1996 Games, in Atlanta, so this will be the first appearance by a British women's team.

Q: How many teams play in the tournament?

A: Sixteen in the men's tournament, 12 in the women's.

Q: Which nations have qualified?

A: The women's line-up is almost complete, with just two CONCACAF nations, one from Oceania and a second from Africa to join the host nation, World Cup winners Japan, much-fancied Brazil, Colombia, North Korea, South Africa, Sweden and France. Nigeria and Cameroon will play off for the second African berth on Saturday, with Nigeria leading 2-1 from the first leg.

In the men's tournament, only the European qualifiers - Spain, Switzerland, Belarus and the hosts - and those from South America - Brazil and Uruguay - are known.

Q: Who are the reigning gold medallists?

A: Reigning men's champions Argentina will be absent from the tournament after only finishing third in this year's South American Youth Championship, which served as the qualifying event. Women's title-holders the United States will expect to qualify from the CONCACAF preliminary competition, which takes place in January.

Have you tried new the Independent Digital Edition apps?
Caption competition
Caption competition
Latest stories from i100
Have you tried new the Independent Digital Edition apps?
Daily Quiz
Independent Dating

By clicking 'Search' you
are agreeing to our
Terms of Use.

Day In a Page

War with Isis: Iraq's government fights to win back Tikrit from militants - but then what?

Baghdad fights to win back Tikrit from Isis – but then what?

Patrick Cockburn reports from Kirkuk on a conflict which sectarianism has made intractable
Living with Alzheimer's: What is it really like to be diagnosed with early-onset dementia?

What is it like to live with Alzheimer's?

Depicting early-onset Alzheimer's, the film 'Still Alice' had a profound effect on Joy Watson, who lives with the illness. She tells Kate Hilpern how she's coped with the diagnosis
The Internet of Things: Meet the British salesman who gave real-world items a virtual life

Setting in motion the Internet of Things

British salesman Kevin Ashton gave real-world items a virtual life
Election 2015: Latest polling reveals Tories and Labour on course to win the same number of seats - with the SNP holding the balance of power

Election 2015: A dead heat between Mr Bean and Dick Dastardly!

Lord Ashcroft reveals latest polling – and which character voters associate with each leader
Audiences queue up for 'true stories told live' as cult competition The Moth goes global

Cult competition The Moth goes global

The non-profit 'slam storytelling' competition was founded in 1997 by the novelist George Dawes Green and has seen Malcolm Gladwell, Salman Rushdie and Molly Ringwald all take their turn at the mic
Pakistani women come out fighting: A hard-hitting play focuses on female Muslim boxers

Pakistani women come out fighting

Hard-hitting new play 'No Guts, No Heart, No Glory' focuses on female Muslim boxers
Leonora Carrington transcended her stolid background to become an avant garde star

Surreal deal: Leonora Carrington

The artist transcended her stolid background to become an avant garde star
LGBT History Month: Pupils discuss topics from Sappho to same-sex marriage

Education: LGBT History Month

Pupils have been discussing topics from Sappho to same-sex marriage
11 best gel eyeliners

Go bold this season: 11 best gel eyeliners

Use an ink pot eyeliner to go bold on the eyes with this season's feline flicked winged liner
Cricket World Cup 2015: Tournament runs riot to make the event more hit than miss...

Cricket World Cup runs riot to make the event more hit than miss...

The tournament has reached its halfway mark and scores of 300 and amazing catches abound. One thing never changes, though – everyone loves beating England
Katarina Johnson-Thompson: Heptathlete ready to jump at first major title

Katarina Johnson-Thompson: Ready to jump at first major title

After her 2014 was ruined by injury, 21-year-old Briton is leading pentathlete going into this week’s European Indoors. Now she intends to turn form into gold
Syrian conflict is the world's first 'climate change war', say scientists, but it won't be the last one

Climate change key in Syrian conflict

And it will trigger more war in future
How I outwitted the Gestapo

How I outwitted the Gestapo

My life as a Jew in wartime Berlin
The nation's favourite animal revealed

The nation's favourite animal revealed

Women like cuddly creatures whilst men like creepy-crawlies
Is this the way to get young people to vote?

Getting young people to vote

From #VOTESELFISH to Bite the Ballot