Queensland Shield kings

Click to follow

Queensland won the Sheffield Shield, Australia's premier domestic trophy, for the first time when they bowled out South Australia for 349 in their second innings on the last day of the final at the Gabba, Brisbane, yesterday.

The hosts entered the competition for the first time 68 years ago, but it has taken them until now, possibly the final season of Allan Border's captaincy, to lift the trophy. Border himself contributed 98 to Queensland's first-innings total of 664, a record for the final, but after the match he refused to confirm speculation that he would retire from first-class cricket now. "It depends whether I turn up for training," was all he would say.

Queensland also became only the second side since the Shield finals format was introduced in 1982 to win by an innings, their total turning out to be 101 runs higher than South Australia's combined effort.

Queensland's other heroes were the opener Trevor Barsby, who made 151, and Martin Love with 146. For South Australia Paul Nobes' 100 was the mainstay of their resistance on the final day.

SHEFFIELD SHIELD Final (Brisbane) Final day: Queensland 664 (T Barsby 151, M Love 146, A Border 98, M Hayden 74); South Australia 214 and 349 (P Nobes 100, D Webber 91). Queensland win by an innings and 101 runs.