Reading and Teddington to meet in final

Click to follow
Reading and Teddington, who finished first and second in the National League, will contest the HA Cup final on 11 May following semi-final wins yesterday.

Reading, defending their title, were in devastating form, winning 10- 1. St Albans never recovered from a brilliant move, started by Jon Wyatt, moved on by Simon Briscoe and covering some 70 yards that was finished off by Mark Pearn for the first of his three goals after three minutes. Scott Ashdown got the first of his two as the visitors were down to 10 men.

Wyatt claimed a couple with Jon Slay, Jonny Loose and Mark Hoskin completing the scoring. Glenn Webster scored for St Albans, who had Webster and Owen Mackney under temporary suspension at the final whistle.

Surbiton, down to a 23rd-minute penalty corner goal from Teddington's Philip McGuire, fought back strongly after the interval to equalise through Richard Elmitt. But Teddington clawed their way back with McGuire scoring twice in the last three minutes to complete his hat-trick and ensure Teddington their fifth final appearance in six years. With Reading having already qualified for Europe next year, Teddington's 3-1 victory secured a place in the European Cup-Winners' Cup.

Hampstead & Westminster and Chelmsford qualified for next season's National League following the Inter League play-offs, with Edgbaston and Loughborough Students playing off next Saturday for the third place.