Rugby Union: Davies dazzles Treorchy

Click to follow
The Independent Online
Cardiff 60 Treorchy 22

If Cardiff keep on winning like this, then the possibility of them overhauling the league leaders is not as remote as some might think. Realistically, they are more concerned with a place in the top four to qualify for the European Cup. But in the meantime their fans are in for some treats.

The reason is simple. Jonathan Davies is still the maestro. Like so few others, he is an entertainer, highly skilled and motivated, and his obvious enjoyment at performing at the highest level still marks him as the assassin with a smile on his face.

Treorchy were full of vibrancy and ambition until Davies turned on the magic. He tortured and teased a shell-shocked side, who plunged to a defeat not short of humiliation.

The damage was inflicted a few minutes either side of half-time. Davies firstly made a fine try for Simon Hill, then he shattered Treorchy with two of his own, both delightful in their creation and execution.

Davies says he will continue playing as long as the satisfaction is still there, which meant Lee Jarvis, a youngster bent on taking over the No 10 jersey, was required to play at full-back.

He played extremely well, but for him to earn the man of the match award in front of Davies was as eccentric a decision as the Arms Park will witness this season. It will not matter to Davies, who has nothing to prove. Treorchy just wished he had chosen another day to turn on the style.

Cardiff: Tries J Davies 2, Hill 2, J Hewlett, L Jarvis, L Mustoe, penalty, Ringer; Conversions L Jarvis 6; Penalties L Jarvis. Treorchy: Tries Eggar, P Jones, Wintle. Conversions D Evans 2. Penalties D Evans.

Cardiff: L Jarvis; S Ford, M Hall, G Jones (J Thomas 73), S Hill; J Davies, J Hewlett; A Lewis (Mustoe 72), P Young, L Mustoe (D Young 67), K Stewart, D Jones (L Jones), O Williams, H Taylor (capt, M Bennett 56), J Ringer.

Treorchy: D Lloyd; R Wintle (J Riggs 51), P Jones, S Davies, R Morgan; D Evans, C Hammans; K Matthews (A Dibble 62), A Thomas, M Powell, S Evans, A Freeman, G Owen (capt), S Eggar, O Lloyd.

Referee: P Bolland (Newport).