Rugby Union: Davies sinks Pontypridd: Round-up

Click to follow
AFTER half-time the deluge was the theme in Wales as tight First Division meetings became second- half beatings. Cardiff, try-less in their first 134 minutes of Heineken action, crossed three times in seven minutes against Pontypridd. Adrian Davies advanced his Wales recall claims with a hat-trick. Swansea outside-halves are rather less happy. Stefan Jones, playing because of Aled Williams's injury last week, was hurt in his turn at Maesteg and the All Whites trailed 3-6 before their second-half surge - five tries in 18 minutes - and a 35-6 victory.

FOUR tries in 10 minutes saw Neath to a 37-16 thumping of Pontypool, winners only once in 12 Heineken outings. Newport, who started the trend last week with their seven-try thrashing of Maesteg, were at it again. Their

42-0 battering of South Wales Police included 26 points in the last 12 minutes to leave the constabulary wondering, after conceding 83 points in two games, if promotion last season was such a good idea. Co-promotees Aberavon won 21-19 at Newbridge.

SEVEN years on, Auckland remain unbeatable in New Zealand's Ranfurly Shield. Previous holders Canterbury went less quietly than 50-plus previous challengers, leading 21-16 at half-time before succumbing 47-38 at Eden Park. Ellis Park, Johannesburg saw Natal take their second Currie Cup in three years, holding off a second-half revival from Transvaal to win 14-13.

SOUTH AFRICAN squad for tour of France and England next month: T van Rensburg (Transvaal), H Reece-Edwards (Natal), P Hendriks (Transvaal), J Olivier (N Transvaal), J Small (Transvaal), D Oosthuizen (N Transvaal), P Muller (Natal), D Gerber (W Province), H Fuhls (Transvaal), F Knoetze (W Province), N Botha (N Transvaal, capt), H le Roux, G Wright (both Transvaal), R du Preez (Natal), J Styger (Orange Free State), H Rogers (Transvaal), K Andrews (W Province), W Hills, U Schmidt (both N Transvaal), H Roberts (Transvaal), A Geldenhuys (E Province), A Malan, D Hattingh (both N Transvaal), S Atherton (Natal), W Bartmann (Natal), P Pretorius (N Transvaal), I McDonald (Transvaal), B Rossouw (W Transvaal), T Struass (W Province), A Richter (N Transvaal).