Rugby Union: Lynagh's last kick too much for Irish

Click to follow
Queensland. . .29

Ireland . . . .26

IRELAND, who face Australia in the first Test in Brisbane this Saturday, may have suffered their third successive tour defeat in four matches but it took a last-gasp penalty from Michael Lynagh to give Queensland their win at Ballymore yesterday.

The Irish, after the humiliating losses against New South Wales and the ACT, restored some credibility with a spirited performance against this season's Super Ten competition winners.

'We are very disappointed,' Michael Bradley, the Irish captain, said. 'A draw would have been a fair result. We have adapted a little bit to the laws and referees here in Australia, which is something we had to learn. At least we are improving.'

Ireland were jubilant when Keith Wood, their uncapped hooker, scored a try that Eric Elwood converted inside the final minute to level the score. From the re-start, however, Queensland surged forward and forced the Irish into conceding a penalty in front of their posts.

'They played very well in the forwards, but I am used to Ireland changing character overnight,' Lynagh, the Wallabies stand-off, said.

Ireland, who led 16-13 at half-time, scored their opening try before the interval through Simon Geoghegan. Queensland responded with tries from Peter Slattery and Daniel Herbert, Lynagh converting both and landing all five penalties.

Lynagh admitted that Ireland had 'exposed a hole' in the Queensland defence with their ability to keep the ball alive and they had used possession intelligently.

Queensland: Tries Slattery, Herbert; Conversions Lynagh 2; Penalties Lynagh 5. Ireland: Tries Geoghegan, Wood; Conversions Elwood 2; Penalties Elwood 4.

QUEENSLAND: M Pini; D Smith, D Herbert, A Herbert, B Lea; M Lynagh (capt), P Slattery (B Johnstone, 46); A Skeggs, M Foley, C Lillicrap, R McCall, G Morgan, D Wilson, S Scott-Young, I Tabua.

IRELAND: C O'Shea (Lansdowne); S Geoghegan (London Irish), J Bell (Ballymena), P Danaher (Garryowen), N Woods (Blackrock Coll); E Elwood (Lansdowne), M Bradley (Constitution, capt); P Clohessy (Young Munster), K Wood (Garryowen), J Fitzgerald (Young Munster), N Francis (Old Belvedere), G Fulcher, D Corkery (both Constitution), P Johns (Dungannon), B Robinson (Ballymena).