Rugby Union: Rampant England to go for the kill

Click to follow
The Independent Online
Phil de Glanville, the England captain, has challenged his side to finish the job and inflict a 2-0 Test series whitewash on Argentina in Buenos Aires today.

A feat never achieved by any England side would provide the perfect finale to a trip de Glanville admits has exceeded all expectations. "If we could secure a 2-0 win, then this would rank right up there with the very best England tours," he said.

The tourists have averaged exactly 40 points a game during their memorable three-week South American adventure, scoring 28 tries and leaving a lasting impression through their invigorating, expansive rugby.

De Glanville has an 85 per cent Test success rate as captain, while nine new caps have emerged, including burgeoning talents Tony Diprose, Martin Corry and Nick Greenstock.

England, who have have seen two of their most influential players - the Bath pair Mike Catt and Nigel Redman - claimed by the Lions, should have the injured trio Adedayo Adebayo, Kevin Yates and Jim Mallinder on duty today. However, the Harlequins wing Daren O'Leary is on standby for Adebayo, while Mark Mapletoft has been handed the key fly-half role in place of Catt.

Argentina have made two changes from the side out-classed in the first Test, Carlos Promanzio replacing the injured Federico Mendez and the flanker Ignacio Fernandez-Lobbe coming in for Pablo Bouza.

ARGENTINA (v England, Buenos Aires, today): E Jurado (Rosario); T Solari (Hindu), E Simone (Liceo Naval), L Arbizu (Belgrano, capt), F Soler (Tala); G Quesada (Hindu), N Fernandez-Miranda (Hindu); R Grau (Gauteng-Lions), C Promanzio (Rosario), M Reggiardo (Castres), P Sporleder (Curupayti), G Llanes (Bath), R Martin (San Isidro), P Camerlinckx (Bella Vista), I Fernandez Lobbe (Liceo Naval). Replacements: C Barrea (Cordoba Athletic), J L Cilley (San Isidro), G Aristide (Rosario), M Ledesma (Curupayti), O Hasan-Jalil (Gimnasia), C Viel (Newman).

ENGLAND: J Mallinder (Sale); J Sleightholme (Bath), P de Glanville (Bath, capt), N Greenstock (Wasps), A Adebayo (Bath); M Mapletoft (Gloucester), K Bracken (Saracens); K Yates (Bath), R Cockerill (Leicester), D Garforth (Leicester), M Haag (Bath), D Grewcock (Coventry), M Corry (Bristol), T Diprose (Saracens), B Clarke (Richmond). Replacements: J Callard (Bath), A King (Wasps), A Gomarsall (Wasps), C Sheasby (Wasps), S Diamond (Sale), R Hardwick (Coventry).