Rugby Union: S Africa respond with six changes

Click to follow
THE South African selectors agonised for four hours before coming up with a panic reaction to England's crushing victory in the first Test, writes Steve Bale. Having made seven changes for that match, they added another six for the second Test in Cape Town on Saturday.

Their tour party for New Zealand, due to leave on Sunday week, has been further delayed until after the Test, leaving South African rugby in limbo as well as chaos.

Transvaal, Currie Cup holders as well as province of the South African RFU president, Louis Luyt, now have seven members of the team. Joost van der Westhuizen is displaced at scrum-half by Johan Roux, who had a season of second-team rugby with Harlequins in 1992-93. Balie Swart's move from tight-head prop to loose-head accommodates Johan le Roux, whose punch brought an end to Martin Johnson's tour.

The inclusion of Adriaan Richter, who played at Twickenham in 1992, and Ian Macdonald in the back row gives the pack greater power, and England could never understand why Mark Andrews was not in the second row in the first place after seeing him play for Natal.

England can scarcely believe the turmoil into which they have thrown the opposition and are thoroughly relaxed in consequence. Yesterday, 13 players, including members of the Test team conducted a coaching clinic for 350 children at Zwide, a township outside Port Elizabeth.

When the midweek team bow out against Eastern Transvaal tonight they will be without Stuart Barnes. His groin injury entails Mike Catt's move from centre, Damian Hopley's from wing to centre and Paul Hull's inclusion on the wing.

EASTERN PROVINCE: A Fourie; A Markow, R Potgieter, F Crous, M van Vuuren; B Kruger, A Coetzee; G Halford, J Kirsten, W Meyer, A Geldenhuys, E van den Bergh, M Mostert (capt), H Karele, S Tremain.

ENGLAND: J Callard (Bath); P Hull (Bristol), D Hopley (Wasps), S Potter (Leicester), A Adebayo; M Catt (both Bath), S Bates (Wasps); G Rowntree (Leicester), G Dawe, J Mallett (both Bath), S Shaw (Bristol), M Poole (Leicester), L Dallaglio, D Ryan (Wasps, capt), S Ojomoh (Bath).

SOUTH AFRICA (v England, Cape Town, Saturday): A Joubert; J Small, P Muller (all Natal), B Venter (Orange Free State), C Williams (Western Province); H le Roux, J Roux; B Swart (all Transvaal), J Allan (Natal), J le Roux, H Strydom (both Transvaal), M Andrews (Natal), I Macdonald (Transvaal), A Richter (Northern Transvaal), F Pienaar (Transvaal, capt).

Phil Davies will captain Wales against Canada A in Hamilton tomorrow night.

WALES: A Clement (Swansea); D Manley (Pontypridd), M Hall (Cardiff), N Davies (Llanelli), G Wilkins (Bridgend); N Jenkins, P John (both Pontypridd); I Buckett, G Jenkins (both Swansea), J Davies (Neath), P Davies (Llanelli, capt), P Arnold (Swansea), H Taylor (Cardiff), S Quinnell (Llanelli), R Collins (Pontypridd).