Scots talk sense after Visser's Dutch double

Fiji 25 Scotland 37

Churchill Park

The Scotland coach, Andy Robinson, was determined to be realistic after his side's second win of their Southern Hemisphere tour. The Englishman was critical of the team's performance in the second half in Lautoka, in which they allowed Fiji to come back from 24-11 down to within two points before Tim Visser, the Dutch-born wing who was making his Test debut, sealed the victory with his second try of the match.

Visser earned only a wry "he did all right" from the coach but the player himself was delighted, saying: "As soon as the first whistle went, I went to myself: 'Yeah, go!' I actually have a cap now, which is brilliant. Being able to score that first try and finish off that second makes it a brilliant day for me."

Robinson said the match, which was played in tropical heat, showed areas that needed work.

"It is very pleasing to win," he said. "The last time Scotland came here they lost heavily. The good thing is that we did win, scored 37 points and Visser's first try was a cracker; Greig Laidlaw's as well. But we cannot allow sides to come back into the game. If you do that, you will get punished.

"We are delighted to get the result but Fiji should be delighted with the way their team played," he said. "I have watched a lot of their rugby and I think that if they can play like this all the way through they are going to be a dangerous side."

Fiji: I Koniferedi (M Talebulamaijaina, 60); W Nayacalevu, V Goneva, A Buto (K Ratuvou, 58), W Votu; J Ralulu, N Matawalu (N Kenetale Ranuku, 66); J Yanuyanutawa (W Nailago, 58), V Veikoso (T Tuapati, 60), S Somoca, A Naikatini, L Nakarawa, I Ratuva (K Ketedromo, 70), N Talei, M Ravulo (J Domolailai, 24).

Scotland: S Hogg; M Evans (S Lamont, 62), N De Luca, M Scott, T Visser; G Laidlaw (D Weir, 77), M Blair (C Cusiter, 55); R Grant, R Ford (capt; S Lawson, 77), E Murray (G Cross, 66), R Gray (T Ryder, 78), A Kellock, A Strokosch, J Barclay (R Vernon, 58), R Rennie.

Referee: J Peyper (South Africa).

FootballGerman sparks three goals in four minutes at favourite No 10 role
Rumer was diagnosed with bipolarity, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder and post-traumatic stress disorder: 'I was convinced it was a misdiagnosis'
peopleHer debut album caused her post-traumatic stress - how will she cope as she releases her third record?
A long jumper competes in the 80-to-84-year-old age division at the 2007 World Masters Championships
Have you tried new the Independent Digital Edition apps?
Radamel Falcao was forced to withdraw from the World Cup after undergoing surgery
premier leagueExclusive: Reds have agreement with Monaco
Arts and Entertainment
'New Tricks' star Dennis Waterman is departing from the show after he completes filming on two more episodes
tvHe is only remaining member of original cast
Life and Style
Walking tall: unlike some, Donatella Versace showed a strong and vibrant collection
fashionAlexander Fury on the staid Italian clothing industry
Arts and Entertainment
Gregory Porter learnt about his father’s voice at his funeral
Arts and Entertainment
tvHighs and lows of the cast's careers since 2004
Life and Style
Children at the Leytonstone branch of the Homeless Children's Aid and Adoption Society tuck into their harvest festival gifts, in October 1936
food + drinkThe harvest festival is back, but forget cans of tuna and packets of instant mash
Lewis Hamilton will start the Singapore Grand Prix from pole, with Nico Rosberg second and Daniel Ricciardo third
F1... for floodlit Singapore Grand Prix
New Articles
Life and Style
Couples have been having sex less in 2014, according to a new survey
Caption competition
Caption competition
Latest stories from i100
Have you tried new the Independent Digital Edition apps?
Daily Quiz
Independent Dating

By clicking 'Search' you
are agreeing to our
Terms of Use.

Career Services

Day In a Page

Scottish referendum: The Yes vote was the love that dared speak its name, but it was not to be

Despite the result, this is the end of the status quo

Boyd Tonkin on the fall-out from the Scottish referendum
Manolo Blahnik: The high priest of heels talks flats, Englishness, and why he loves Mary Beard

Manolo Blahnik: Flats, Englishness, and Mary Beard

The shoe designer who has been dubbed 'the patron saint of the stiletto'
The Beatles biographer reveals exclusive original manuscripts of some of the best pop songs ever written

Scrambled eggs and LSD

Behind The Beatles' lyrics - thanks to Hunter Davis's original manuscript copies
'Normcore' fashion: Blending in is the new standing out in latest catwalk non-trend

'Normcore': Blending in is the new standing out

Just when fashion was in grave danger of running out of trends, it only went and invented the non-trend. Rebecca Gonsalves investigates
Dance’s new leading ladies fight back: How female vocalists are now writing their own hits

New leading ladies of dance fight back

How female vocalists are now writing their own hits
Mystery of the Ground Zero wedding photo

A shot in the dark

Mystery of the wedding photo from Ground Zero
His life, the universe and everything

His life, the universe and everything

New biography sheds light on comic genius of Douglas Adams
Save us from small screen superheroes

Save us from small screen superheroes

Shows like Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D are little more than marketing tools
Reach for the skies

Reach for the skies

From pools to football pitches, rooftop living is looking up
These are the 12 best hotel spas in the UK

12 best hotel spas in the UK

Some hotels go all out on facilities; others stand out for the sheer quality of treatments
These Iranian-controlled Shia militias used to specialise in killing American soldiers. Now they are fighting Isis, backed up by US airstrikes

Widespread fear of Isis is producing strange bedfellows

Iranian-controlled Shia militias that used to kill American soldiers are now fighting Isis, helped by US airstrikes
Topshop goes part Athena poster, part last spring Prada

Topshop goes part Athena poster, part last spring Prada

Shoppers don't come to Topshop for the unique
How to make a Lego masterpiece

How to make a Lego masterpiece

Toy breaks out of the nursery and heads for the gallery
Meet the ‘Endies’ – city dwellers who are too poor to have fun

Meet the ‘Endies’ – city dwellers who are too poor to have fun

Urbanites are cursed with an acronym pointing to Employed but No Disposable Income or Savings
Paisley’s decision to make peace with IRA enemies might remind the Arabs of Sadat

Ian Paisley’s decision to make peace with his IRA enemies

His Save Ulster from Sodomy campaign would surely have been supported by many a Sunni imam