Hamish Watson starts for Scotland as Vern Cotter makes one change for England Six Nations clash

John Hardie misses out with a knee injury he picked up against Wales

Click to follow

Hamish Watson starts as Scotland make one change from the team that beat Wales to face England for the Calcutta Cup in the Six Nations on Saturday.

Openside Watson replaces the injured John Hardie who misses the game at Twickenham with a knee injury and was replaced in the 25th minute against the Welsh. Watson started the opening two rounds of the championship and regains his place as a consequence.

Back rower Cornell Du Preez takes the freed-up spot on the bench and will make his Test debut for the Scots if he is called up against England.

It means Scotland’s exciting back three of Tommy Seymour, Tim Visser and Stuart Hogg continue together, with Alex Dunbar partnering Huw Jones for the fourth consecutive game.

Scotland have not beaten the English at Twickenham since 1983 and are in search of a first Triple Crown in 27 years.

However, England have history of their own to make, with victory over Vern Cotter’s side meaning they would equal New Zealand’s world record of 18 consecutive Test victories.

Ahead of the game, Cotter said: “We have another two games to go in this Championship and this next one is obviously pretty important. There’s a lot to play for and several reasons why we should be able to get up for this game.

“We’ve rested, recovered and prepared as best we can for this game. We’ve asked some questions of ourselves and the areas we think we can improve and we’re confident we can play better as a team. That’s our next challenge, to step that up.

“The challenge is for us to combine the best parts of our performances so far in this campaign in to one excellent performance at Twickenham this Saturday.

“We’ll need that to put us in a position to win this game and will enjoy the challenge of doing that against an England team that hasn’t lost in a while.”

Scotland team to face England: Hogg, Seymour, Jones, Dunbar, Visser, Russell, Price; Reid, Brown, Fagerson, R Gray, J Gray, Barclay, Watson, Wilson.

Replacments: Ford, Dell, Berghan, Swinson, Du Preez, Pyrgos, Weir, Bennett.