Uncapped Irish trio earn chance


Click to follow
The Independent Online

The Ireland head coach, Declan Kidney, is set to finalise his 29-man squad for the New Zealand tour after tonight's game against the Barbarians at Kingsholm.

Three uncapped players will start in the front row – the Connacht loosehead Brett Wilkinson, the Munster hooker Mike Sherry and the Ulster tighthead Declan Fitzpatrick. Munster's Ronan O'Gara will lead the side from fly-half.

Ireland will face the world-champion All Blacks in Auckland, Christchurch and Hamilton between 9 and 23 June.