Leicester 36 Saracens 23: Wilkinson eclipsed as record falls to Goode

Click to follow

Leicester returned to winning ways against a gritty Saracens side who came within a whisker of recording their first victory here in 31 attempts. The home fly-half, Andy Goode, finished with 21 points to break Jonny Wilkinson's record of 1,413 in the Premiership.

The best chance the Tigers had of breaching the Saracens line in the first half was when Seru Rabeni burst clear only to be hauled back by the referee, Sean Davey, who had blown for a penalty. The advantage was lost when Goode's kick was pulled wide. At least he had ensured that Leicester were in touch at the break with two earlier penalties and a drop goal.

Saracens might not have had much position or possession, but they certainly had all the luck. A cheeky reverse flip by theirfly-half, Glen Jackson, was forward, but play was not halted.Rod Penney picked up, and after a neat bit of interplay with Andy Farrell, Dan Scarbrough went over in the corner. Jackson then converted to add to his twoearlier penalties.

After the interval a more purposeful Tigers side pressed hard, and a series of pick-and-go moves culminated in Martin Corry delivering a neat reverse pass into the path of Rabeni, whose try was converted by Goode.

Leicester's scrum-half, Harry Ellis, looking back to his sharpest, prompted some dangerous moments for Sarries, and Alesana Tuilagi made up for the odd spilled ball by taking his try well, Goode adding the conversion.

A line-out outside the Tigers 22 saw the ball moved swiftly along Saracens' threequarter line, the speedy full-back Brent Russell touching down. Jackson converted and kicked a third penalty. Goode landed his fourth penalty,and then disaster struck for Saracens. Scarbrough failed to ground a kick-through by Dan Hipkiss and the alert Tom Varndell dived on to the ball for the try, which Goode converted.

Leicester: J Murphy; T Varndell, D Hipkiss, S Rabeni, A Tuilagi; A Goode, H Ellis; M Ayerza (B Stankovich, 20), M Davies (B Kayser, 59), J White, L Deacon, M Corry (capt; G Gillanders, 80), B Deacon, B Pienaar, J Crane.

Saracens: B Russell; R Haughton (R Penney, 6),D Scarbrough, A Farrell, K Ratuvou; G Jackson, N de Kock (capt; M Rauluni, 63); N Lloyd, A Kyriacou (M Cairns, 61), C Johnston (C Visagie, 40-65), C Jack, H Vyvyan, K Chesney, R Hill (D Barrell, 59), B Skirving.

Referee: S Davey (Sussex).