McGeechan and O'Reilly enter Hall of Fame

Click to follow

Ian McGeechan, a winning player and coach with the Lions in South Africa, and Sir Anthony O'Reilly, the most prolific try scorer for the British Isles side, were among the inductees to the International Rugby Board's Hall of Fame at Rugby School yesterday. The nine new entrants were all recognised for distinguished service on either side in Test series between the Lions and South Africa.

McGeechan played in the first party to win in South Africa, in 1974, and also coached the 1997 squad to a series win. O'Reilly, an Irish wing-threequarter, scored 16 tries on the 1955 tour, including a record six Test tries for the Lions in all. Four other Lions were also honoured: the Scottish three-quarter William Maclagan, the Welsh fly-half Cliff Morgan, Dr Syd Millar, the Ireland prop and Willie John McBride, the Ireland lock and touring captain. Springboks Barry Heatlie, Benny Osler and Frik Du Preez were also inducted.