Wyatt wings in to leave Leinster empty-handed

Celtic Warriors 29 Leinster 22
Click to follow

A sensational injury-time try by Celtic Warriors wing Gareth Wyatt clinched victory over Leinster in dramatic fashion at Sardis Road.

With the scores locked at 22-22 Wyatt, who has been overlooked by successive Wales coaches, broke Leinster's hearts with a 50-metre score worthy of winning any game.

With the Irish pressing forward, possession was spilled and a quick pass found Wyatt in acres of space near his own 10-metre line, though it still took a delightful chip over the head of Leinster full-back James Norton for Wyatt to get over the line for a try that saw Sardis Road erupt.

It was a tough break for a second-string Leinster side that had battled throughout, despite the absence of 11 internationals and a further seven players through an untimely injury crisis.

Wing Brendan Burke had finally broken the deadlock with the game's first try after almost an hour, after Neil Jenkins and Brian O'Meara had conducted a penalty shootout of their own.

That try put Leinster seven points ahead half way through the second period and in a commanding position against a Warriors side missing eight Test men of their own, as well as the injured Dafydd James.

Indeed it took the arrival of one of only two Wales players permitted to play, hooker Mefin Davies (the other was full-back Kevin Morgan), for the Warriors to score their first try, and the trusty right boot of Jenkins to bring the game to a thrilling climax.

For the Warriors it was a second victory from two matches, following their demolition of The Borders on the opening night, and a sign that regional rugby is already begin to redress the balance for the Welsh game. Before this season Welsh clubs had only managed six wins in 40 attempts against Irish sides in the Celtic League. Former champions Leinster, however, are winless in this campaign.

Celtic Warriors: K Morgan; G Wyatt, D Bishop, J Bryant (S James, 31), A Havili; N Jenkins, P John; P Booth, A Joy (M Davies, 50), C Horsman, N Budgett, D Jones (R Jones, 65), N Kelly (C Harris, 28), R Bryan (capt), R Parks.

Leinster: J Norton; J McWeeney (G Brown, 62), K Lewis, D Quinlan, B Burke; C Warner, B O'Meara; J Lyne, D Blaney, N Treston (P Coyle, 67), L Cullen (capt), B Gissing, N Breslin, D Dillon, S Jennings.

Referee: I Ramage (Scotland).