Sailing: Walters' golden waters: Jackdaw swoops to take the spoils

Click to follow
The Independent Online
TO WIN the Gold Roman Bowl in the annual Round the Island Race takes a lot of determination and sometimes some luck and on Saturday David Walters was rewarded for around three years of high-pressure campaigning when his J39 Jackdaw lifted the premier trophy by little more than a minute from a little Folkboat, Charlotte Sometimes, entered by a syndicate named only as E H Donald and C P Appleby.

That margin was, of course, after handicap compensations had been made for smaller boats, and it was the boat with the lowest handicap of all, Peter Poland's Horizon 21, that was eventually placed third overall.

Total entries were down by 15 per cent on a year ago, perhaps partly because last year's race was badly hit when the sun co-operated but not the wind. This year about 60 of the 1,224 failed to cross the start-line off Cowes, doubtless some of them worried about a forecast of stiff north-westerlies.

At the start there was a good westerly blowing and predictions of record-breaking times were looking good, but the breeze gradually softened and the most notable incident was the collision in which Bob Fisher's 45-foot Barracuda hit the wreck of the Varvassi at The Needles, pushing a rudder through the hull and coming close to sinking.

ROUND-THE-ISLAND RACE: Principal Trophy winners: Observer: A Todd (Eagle). Freedom: G Clausen (Fritzzz- Fratzzz). Royal Singapore: Mr and Mrs Sowry (Scimitar). Prince of Wales: H Sellars (Masquerade). Golden Miller: T F B Young (Superstar of Poole). Westerly: R E Simonds (Joint Venture). Contessa: J and S Roberts (Contessa Catherine). Sonata Salver: J A Froy (Cadenza). Folkboat: R J Fuller (Sweet Caroline). Non-Rated Class A: G Howe (By-Pass). Non-rated Class B: C W Fox (Decoy). Non- Rated Class C: A R Titterington (Mariche IV). Non-rated Class D: R S Brown (Ladybird). Non-Rated Class E: N O Woolley (Woolley Knockers). Non-Rated Class F: P and J Pritchard (Sea Swallow). Non-Rated Class G: R E New (Krunch). Non-Rated Class H: B C Heywood (Allegria of Wight). Non-Rated Class J: R Cross (Suzalah). Edward Heath: S Coombes (Woodstock). CHS 1 and Gold Roman Challenge Cup: D K Walters (Jackdaw). CHS 2: S Coombes. CHS 3: V Watkins (Scorpio). CHS 4: I M Graham (Kozmos). CHS 5: J S MacGregor (Flair II). CHS 6: K Willis (Dark and Stormy). CHS 7: W E McNeill (Blaze). CHS 8: C Rhodes (Lazy Bear). CHS 9: D Ide (Super Sparks). CHS 10: J McIntosh (Dynamite). CHS 11 and Silver Gilt Roman Challenge Cup: E H Donald (Charlotte Sometimes).