Seventeen grands prix in '97

Click to follow
Luxembourg appears on the Formula One calendar next season, but only as a means of accommodating a now established second race in Germany, writes Derick Allsop. The Nurburgring, having claimed its place as the Grand Prix of Europe, takes on its new title on 28 September.

The FIA, motor sport's governing body, announced a 17-race world championship yesterday, which is due to culminate in the Portuguese Grand Prix on 26 October. Austria's return to Formula One is confirmed for 21 September.

1997 FORMULA ONE GRAND PRIX CALENDER: 9 March: Australia (Melbourne); 30 March: Brazil (Interlagos); 13 April: Argentina (Buenos Aires); 27 April: San Marino (Imola); 11 May: Monaco (Monte Carlo); 25 May: Spain (Barcelona); 15 June: Canada (Montreal); 29 June: France (Magny-Cours)*; 13 July: Great Britain (Silverstone); 27 July: Germany (Hockenheim); 10 Aug: Hungary (Budapest); 24 Aug: Belgium (Spa-Francorchamps); 7 Sept: Italy (Monza); 21 Sept: Austria (A1-Ring); 28 Sept: Luxembourg (Nurburgring); 12 Oct: Japan (Suzuka); 26 Oct: Portugal (Estoril)*.

* pending confirmation before 31 January.