Click to follow

Shane Warne has been named in Australia's squad for the third and final Test against Pakistan at the Sydney Ground on Thursday, just 10 days after breaking a toe. Warne was originally given little chance of playing, but has been given until tomorrow to prove his fitness.

AUSTRALIAN SQUAD (v Pakistan, third Test, Sydney, Thursday): M Taylor (capt), M Slater, D Boon, M Waugh, S Waugh, I Healy, G Blewett, P McIntyre, S Warne, P Reiffel, C McDermott, G McGrath, B Julian.

Pakistan have named their former captain Javed Miandad in their preliminary 20-man squad for the World Cup.

PAKISTAN PRELIMINARY SQUAD FOR WORLD CUP: Aamir Sohail, Saeed Anwar, Ramiz Raja, Salim Elahi, Salim Malik, Javed Miandad, Inzamam-ul-Haq, Basit Ali, Ejaz Ahmed, Moin Khan, Rashid Latif, Mushtaq Ahmed, Saqlain Mushtaq, Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis, Aaqib Javed, Mohammad Akram, Ataur Rehman, Kabir Khan, Shahid Anwar.

SHEFFIELD SHIELD (final day of four): Hobart: New South Wales 368 for 9 dec and 270 for 5 dec; Tasmania 263 and 266. New South Wales won by 109 runs. Adelaide: Western Australia 309 and 376 for 9 dec; South Australia 353 for 9 dec and 186. Western Australia won by 146 runs.

CASTLE CUP (fourth day of four): Durban: Eastern Province 71 and 219 (K Wessels 77, D Callaghan 65no; S Pollock 5-40); Natal 449 for 5 dec. Natal won by an innings and 159 runs. Paarl: Boland 199 and 361; Transvaal 310 and 251 for 7 (D Laing 107, K Rutherford 50). Transvaal won by three wickets.

WOMEN'S SECOND TEST (Jamshedpur, Ind; fourth day of four): England 196 (S Dabir 4-36) and 194 (N David 8-53). India 263 (S Dabir 60, S Shaw 54) and 125 (D Stock 4-32). England won by 2 runs.