Sport in Short: Baseball

Click to follow
The Independent Online
JIM LEYLAND and Tony La Russa, the two losing managers in this year's play-offs, won the National League and American League manager of the year awards. Leyland guided the Pittsburgh Pirates to their third straight NL East title, while La Russa overcame the loss of key players to injury to lead the Oakland Athletics to their fourth AL West pennant in five years.