Sport in Short: Rallying

Click to follow
The Independent Online
CARLOS SAINZ, the Spanish world champion, had a puncture and last year's winner, Didier Auriol, of France, lost a back wheel to leave Francois Delecour, of France, who won three of the six special stages, ahead on the first day of the Monte Carlo rally yesterday.

MONTE CARLO RALLY Leading standings after first day: 1 F Delecour (Fr) Ford Escort Cosworth 1hr 35min 16sec; 2 A Aghini (It) Lancia Delta +1min 30sec; 3 M Biasion (It) Ford Escort Cosworth) +1:35; 4 D Auriol (Fr) Toyota Celica 2:07; 5 C Sainz (Sp) Lancia Delta 2:08; 6 J Kankkunen (Fin) Toyota Celica 2:47.