Sport in Short: Rallying

Click to follow
The Independent Online
DIDIER AURIOL, of France, won the 1,000 Lakes rally yesterday to take the lead in the drivers' championship and secure Lancia's sixth consecutive world title.

1,000 LAKES RALLY (Finland): 1 D Auriol (Fr) Lancia HF Integrale 4hr 32min 45sec; 2 J Kankkunen (Fin) Lancia HF Integrale +40sec; 3 M Alen (Fin) Toyota Celica Turbo 4WD +1min 59sec. Selected: 8 C McRae (GB) Subvaru Legacy 4WD Turbo +15:45. World championship standings (after 9 of 14 events): 1 Auriol 102pts; 2 C Sainz (Sp) Toyota 92; 3 Kankkunen 77. 7 McRae 28. Manufacturers championship: 1 Lancia 137pts (champions); 2 Toyota 98; 3 Ford 70.