Sporting Digest: Cricket

Click to follow
THIS year's winners of the NatWest Trophy will receive a record first prize of pounds 30,000. Total prize money for 1993 - the Trophy's 13th season - has been increased to pounds 80,830.

TRANSVAAL won South Africa's Benson and Hedges one-day trophy by one run on Wednesday when Natal's Derek Crookes failed to hit a boundary off the final ball. Natal restricted Transvaal to 193 for 7 in 45 overs but managed only 192 for 8 in reply.

SOUTH AFRICA SQUAD (to tour Sri Lanka, August): K C Wessels (capt), A C Hudson, S J Cook, W J Cronje, D J Cullinan, J N Rhodes, B M McMillan, D J Richardson (wkt), R P Snell, B N Schultz, C E Eksteen, P L Symcox, P S de Villiers, A A Donald, S J Palframan.