Sporting Digest: Golf

Click to follow
The Independent Online
Maureen Madill, the former British stroke play champion and a member of the 1980 Curtis Cup team, has been appointed coach to the Ladies' Golf Union in succession to Mickey Walker.

LGU ELITE SQUAD: L Behan (Curragh), F Brown (Heswall), L Davis (Conwy), R Hudson (Wheatley), A Laing (Vale of Leven), V Laing (Musselburgh), L Moffat (West Kilbride), H Monaghan (Heriot Watt University), B Morgan (Monmouth), L Nicholson (Heriot Watt University), S O'Brien (Milltown), E Pilgrim (Celtic Manor), A Rose (Stirling), K Rostron (Clitheroe), L Walters (Chevin). Reserves: A Coffrey (Warrenpoint), B Brewerton (Abergele), E Dowdall (Wexford).

Nick Faldo will play in this year's Australian Open at Royal Adelaide. The winner of six majors will join Fred Couples, Bill Mayfair and Bob Estes and the leading Australians Greg Norman and Stuart Appleby in the tournament from 3 to 6 December.

MASTERCARD TOUR EVENT (West Malling) Leading second-round scores: 137 L Ferris (Lamberhurst) 64 73; I Harrison (Ross on Wye) 68 69; L Jones (Trent Park) 69 68; N Turley (Kidderminster) 69 68. 138 N Cheetham (Robin Hood GC) 67 71. 139 G Harris (The Wiltshire) 68 71; S Kahn (Toot Hill) 71 68; J Metcalfe (Boldon) 69 70; M Pilkington (unatt) 68 71; P Dwyer (Clitheroe) 72 67. 140 R Cameron (Sundridge Park) 66 74; I Ellis (Royal Norwich) 65 71; R Dinsdale (Newport) 71 69. 141 J Livesley (Moor Park) 70 71; P Wardell (Braid Hills) 72 69; J Carvill (Bar One) 70 71; M Treleaven (Hayling) 72 69; C Duke (Porters Park) 72 69; J Hepworth (unatt) 69 72. 142 R Tinworth (Hever) 67 75; M Plummer (Castle Combe) 68 74; R Bland (Stoneham) 68 74; S Webster (Parkstone) 73 69; C Hislop (Eden) 70 72; N Walton (Knotty Hill) 71 71.