Sporting Digest: Golf

Click to follow
The Independent Online
Lee Westwood capped a fine season by picking up the prestigious Golf Writers' Trophy, his second major award of 1998. The 25-year-old from Worksop becomes the youngest winner of the trophy since Gordon Brand Jnr won in 1982, aged 24. Westwood was also named the European Tour's 1998 Player of the Year earlier this month.

COOLUM CLASSIC (Coolum, Aus) Leading first-round scores (Aus unless stated): 65 C Spence; 68 A Crawford, P Moloney; 69 B Partridge, C Smedley, P McWhinney, S Appleby, T Christie (NZ); 70 G Coles, J Dawes, K Druce, N O'Hern, J Cooper, M Allen, M Gogel (US), M Jonzon (Swe), M Cain, P Gow, R Willis. Selected: 73 D Watson (GB).