Sporting Digest: Ice hockey

Click to follow
The Independent Online
Whitley Warriors have signed a multi-million pound agreement to move to the 10,000-seat Newcastle Arena. The team, who are to be called the Newcastle Warriors, will play at Whitley Bay until the new venue opens in November. Terry Matthews, the former Great Britain team manager, has been appointed coach, with Chris Norton, Anthony Payne and John Iredale also signing.

NHL 1994/95 AWARDS: Hart Trophy (most valuable player): E Lindros (Philadelphia Flyers); James Norris Trophy (top defenceman): P Coffey (Detroit Red Wings); Frank Selke Trophy (top defensive forward): R Francis (Pittsburgh Penguins); Calder Trophy (top rookie): P Forsberg (Quebec Nordiques); Lady Byng Trophy (sportsmanship): R Francis (Pittsburgh Penguins); Vezina Trophy (leading goaltender): D Hasek (Buffalo Sabres); Jack Adams Award (coach of the year): M Crawford (Quebec Nordiques).