Sporting Digest: Rallying

Click to follow
The Independent Online
COLIN McRAE, in a Subaru Impeza 555, took the lead on the first day of the Acropolis Rally by winning five of 10 special stages in central Greece.

ACROPOLIS RALLY First stage (Athens to Vouliagmeni): 1 C McRae (GB) Subaru Impreza 1hr 31min 58sec; 2 C Sainz (Sp) Subaru Impreza +43sec; 3 D Auriol (Fr) Toyota Celica +52; 4 J Kankkunen (Fin) Toyota Celica +1min 01sec; 5 A Vatanen (Fin) Ford Escort +1:03; 6 K Eriksson (Swe) Mitsubishi +1:41; 7 M Biasion (It) Ford Escort 2:03; 8 M Wilson (GB) Ford Escort RS Cosworth +2:41; 9 A Schwarz (Ger) Mitsubishi Lancer +2:57; 10 A Fiorio (It) Lancia +8:05.