Teddington cruise to fourth final

Click to follow
The Independent Online
The Cup holders, Teddington, who last week won the First Division National League title, moved to their fourth successive final with a 4- 1 win against Formby to face Guildford at Canterbury on 28 May.

With Peter Shipson dominant in midfield for Formby in the opening exchanges, an upset was looming until James Wallis put Teddington ahead from a penalty corner in the 20th minute and Jason Laslett added a second before the interval. Second-half goals from Phil McGuire and Laslett followed, with Phil Capper getting a late consolation for Formby.

Guildford's first Cup final appearance since 1980 was signalled in the 15th minute when two breaks down the right caught Isca's defence napping to allow John Barker and Graham Cartmell to set up chances for Danny Hall and Richard Markham to put the Surrey side two ahead.

Isca fought back strongly with Rob Skinner and Jon Snell looking dangerous on the break until Hall, very much against the run of play, scored his second after 56 minutes. Although Skinner pulled a goal back, Guildford marched on. Ian Jennings, who had masterminded Guildford's performance, scored from the penalty spot with Markham, pouncing on a half clearance, collecting his second.

There were no surprises in the Women's Cup quarter-finals, with Tina Cullen scoring both Hightown's goals in a 2-0 win against Chelmsford and Lucy Cope converting three penalty strokes in Balsam Leicester's 7-0 defeat of Winchester.

In Saturday's final National League fixtures of the season, England striker Cullen rounded off with four goals in Hightown's 6-0 win at Bracknell to finish as leading goalscorer.

Having totalled 46, she is three ahead of her England manager, Jane Swinnerton- Ions, who also scored four times in Sutton's 6-0 win against relegated Chelmsford. Slough, the champions, suffered their first League defeat of the season, losing 3-1 at Ipswich.