Andy Murray seeded fourth for Wimbledon

Andy Murray has been handed the fourth seeding for Wimbledon as expected after the All England Club elected to adhere to the top-five world rankings today.

Defending champion Rafael Nadal is therefore the top seed for the men's draw ahead of Novak Djokovic, with six-time winner Roger Federer third on the list.

Returning women's champion Serena Williams is the eighth seed despite her world ranking dropping to 26 following her long lay-off due to injury and illness.

World number one Caroline Wozniacki is the women's top seed.

Murray's seeding ensures he will not play any of the top four before the semi-finals as he aims to claim his breakthrough grand slam success on home turf.

Nadal's top billing, meanwhile, has meant that Federer will not be the top seed for the first time since his maiden Wimbledon success in 2003.

Nadal had been the first seed in 2009, but he was forced to withdraw on the eve of the tournament due to injury, while last year the All England Club named Federer as top seed despite being ranked behind Nadal.

Organisers have only made subtle changes from the world rankings this time around with last year's beaten finalist Tomas Berdych the sixth seed, up one place from his world mark, while Andy Roddick is two places higher at eighth.

In the women's draw, Serena Williams' quest for a hat-trick of titles has been aided by a seeding that means she will not meet a top-eight player until the quarter-finals.

Williams won last year's title by beating Vera Zvonareva, the third seed this year, but only returned for the first time at Eastbourne yesterday after injury and illness kept her away from the court.

The 29-year-old's impressive record on the grass courts SW19 ensure she will still remain as one of the favourites, especially with Wozniacki still awaiting her first grand slam success.

Veteran Kim Clijsters will aim for her first Wimbledon crown from the third seeding ahead of French Open champion Li Na, Victoria Azarenka and 2004 champion Maria Sharapova.

Men's seedings: 1 Rafael Nadal, 2 Novak Djokovic, 3 Roger Federer, 4 Andy Murray, 5 R Soderling, 6 Tomas Berdych, 7 David Ferrer, 8 Andy Roddick, 9 Gael Monfils, 10 Mardy Fish, 11 Jurgen Melzer, 12 Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, 13 Viktor Troicki, 14 Stanislas Wawrinka, 15 Gilles Simon, 16 Nicolas Almagro, 17 Richard Gasquet, 18 Mikhail Youzhny, 19 Michael Llodra, 20 Florian Mayer, 21 Fernando Verdasco, 22 Alexandr Dolgoplov, 23 Janko Tipsarevic, 24 Juan Martin Del Potro, 25 Juan Ignacio Chela, 26 Guillermo Garcia-Lopez, 27 Marin Cilic, 28 David Nalbandian, 29 Nikolay Davydenko, 30 Thomaz Bellucci, 31 Milos Raonic, 32 Marcos Baghdatis.

Women's seedings: 1 Caroline Wozniacki, 2 Kim Clijsters, 3 Vera Zvonareva, 4 Na Li, 5 Victoria Azarenka, 6 Maria Sharapova, 7 Francesca Schiavone, 8 Serena Williams, 9 Petra Kvitova, 10 Marion Bartoli, 11 Samantha Stosur, 12 Andrea Petkovic, 13 Svetlana Kuznetsova, 14 Agnieszka Radwanska, 15 Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova, 16 Jelena Jankovic, 17 Julia Goerges, 18 Kaia Kanepi, 19 Ana Ivanovic, 20 Yanina Wickmayer, 21 Shuai Peng, 22 Flavia Pennetta, 23 Shahar Peer, 24 Venus Williams, 25 Dominika Cibulkova, 26 Daniela Hantuchova, 27 Maria Kirilenko, 28 Jarmila Gajdosova, 29 Ekaterina Makarova, 30 Roberta Vinci, 31 Bethanie Mattek-Sands, 32 Lucie Safarova.

Arts and Entertainment
musicOfficial chart could be moved to accommodate Friday international release day
Wes Brown is sent-off
Italy celebrate scoring their second try
six nations
Glenn Murray celebrates scoring against West Ham
footballWest Ham 1 Crystal Palace 3
Arts and Entertainment
Drake continues to tease ahead of the release of his new album
Caption competition
Caption competition
Latest stories from i100
Have you tried new the Independent Digital Edition apps?
Daily Quiz
Independent Dating

By clicking 'Search' you
are agreeing to our
Terms of Use.

The Last Word: For the good of the game: why on earth don’t we leave Fifa?

Michael Calvin's Last Word

For the good of the game: why on earth don’t we leave Fifa?
HIV pill: Scientists hail discovery of 'game-changer' that cuts the risk of infection among gay men by 86%

Scientists hail daily pill that protects against HIV infection

Breakthrough in battle against global scourge – but will the NHS pay for it?
How we must adjust our lifestyles to nature: Welcome to the 'Anthropocene', the human epoch

Time to play God

Welcome to the 'Anthropocene', the human epoch where we may need to redefine nature itself
MacGyver returns, but with a difference: Handyman hero of classic 1980s TV series to be recast as a woman

MacGyver returns, but with a difference

Handyman hero of classic 1980s TV series to be recast as a woman
Tunnel renaissance: Why cities are hiding roads down in the ground

Tunnel renaissance

Why cities are hiding roads underground
'Backstreet Boys - Show 'Em What You're Made Of': An affectionate look at five middle-aged men

Boys to men

The Backstreet Boys might be middle-aged, married and have dodgy knees, but a heartfelt documentary reveals they’re not going gently into pop’s good night
Crufts 2015: Should foreign dogs be allowed to compete?

Crufts 2015

Should foreign dogs be allowed to compete?
10 best projectors

How to make your home cinema more cinematic: 10 best projectors

Want to recreate the big-screen experience in your sitting room? IndyBest sizes up gadgets to form your film-watching
Manchester City 1 Barcelona 2 player ratings: Luis Suarez? Lionel Messi? Joe Hart? Who was the star man?

Manchester City vs Barcelona player ratings

Luis Suarez? Lionel Messi? Joe Hart? Who was the star man at the Etihad?
Arsenal vs Monaco: Monaco - the making of Gunners' manager Arsene Wenger

Monaco: the making of Wenger

Jack Pitt-Brooke speaks to former players and learns the Frenchman’s man-management has always been one of his best skills
Cricket World Cup 2015: Chris Gayle - the West Indies' enigma lives up to his reputation

Chris Gayle: The West Indies' enigma

Some said the game's eternal rebel was washed up. As ever, he proved he writes the scripts by producing a blistering World Cup innings
In Ukraine a dark world of hybrid warfare and murky loyalties prevails

In Ukraine a dark world of hybrid warfare

This war in the shadows has been going on since the fall of Mr Yanukovych
'Birdman' and 'Bullets Over Broadway': Homage or plagiarism?

Homage or plagiarism?

'Birdman' shares much DNA with Woody Allen's 'Bullets Over Broadway'
Broadchurch ends as damp squib not even David Tennant can revive

A damp squib not even David Tennant can revive

Broadchurch, Series 2 finale, review
A Koi carp breeding pond, wall-mounted iPads and a bathroom with a 'wellness' shower: inside the mansion of Germany's 'Bishop of Bling'

Inside the mansion of Germany's 'Bishop of Bling'

A Koi carp breeding pond, wall-mounted iPads and a bathroom with a 'wellness' shower