Murray named fourth seed for Melbourne


Click to follow
The Independent Online

Andy Murray is the fourth seed for this month's Australian Open. The Scotsman, fresh from victory in Brisbane over the weekend, follows Novak Djokovic, Rafael Nadal and Roger Federer in the seedings, which mirror the ATP world rankings.

Spain's David Ferrer is seeded fifth, ahead of Frenchman Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, the Czech Republic's Tomas Berdych, American Mardy Fish and Serbian Janko Tipsarevic, with Spanish clay-court specialist Nicolas Almagro completing the top 10.

Caroline Wozniacki, who has never won a Grand Slam tournament, tops the women's list. The Wimbledon champion Petra Kvitova is second, ahead of the Belarusian Victoria Azarenka and Maria Sharapova of Russia.