This week at the World Cup

Click to follow
The Independent Online
Team of the week

1 S R Tendulkar (Ind)

2 S Chanderpaul (WI)

3 B C Lara (WI)

4 P A De Silva (SL)

5 C Z Harris (NZ)

6 S G Law (Aus)

7 B M McMillan (SA)

8 I A Healy (Aus)

9 S K Warne (Aus)

10 W P U C J Vaas (SL)

11 C L Ambrose (WI)

Quote of the week

They won 95 per cent of the game, but we won the last five per cent. Mark Taylor after his team's astonishing semi-final win.

Moment of the week

The way the roars died instantly in 110,000 throats in Calcutta when Sri Lanka's wicketkeeper, Romesh Kaluwitharana, stumped Sachin Tendulkar and changed the course of the semi-final with a stroke of genius.

Loser of the week


The West Indies middle-order batsman who ended the tournament with a grand total of two runs (both singles) and three ducks from his five innings, culminating in a desperate and horrible swipe against Damien Fleming at a crucial moment in the semi-final.

Best batting

130 Chris Harris (NZ v Aus)

111 Brian Lara (WI v SA)

110 Mark Waugh (Aus v NZ)

93 Navjot Singh Sidhu (Ind v Pak)

Best bowling

9-0-36-4 Shane Warne (Aus v WI)

7-1-12-3 Sanath Jayasuriya (SL v Ind)

7-1-34-3 Javagal Srinath (Ind v SL)

10-1-26-2 Curtly Ambrose (WI v Aus)



Sri Lanka (236-5) bt England (235-8) by 5 wkts.

India (287-8) bt Pakistan (248-9) by 39 runs.

West Indies (264-8) bt South Africa (245) by 19 runs.

Australia (289-4) bt New Zealand (286-9) by 6 wkts.


Sri Lanka (251-8) bt India (120-8) by default - crowd trouble.

Australia (207-8) bt West Indies (202) by 5 runs.



Sri Lanka v Australia (tomorrow, at Gaddafi stadium, Lahore, Pakistan). TV: Sky Sport: Live 09.00-17.30. BBC2: Highlights 22.10-23.10. Radio: Radio 4 LW: Live 09.30-17.30.



Sachin Tendulkar (Ind) 523

Mark Waugh (Aus) 472

Gary Kirsten (SA) 391

Aravinda de Silva (SL) 341

Saeed Anwar (Pak) 329


Anil Kumble (Ind) 15

Waqar Younis (Pak) 13

Paul Strang (Zimb) 12

Roger Harper (WI) 12

Shane Warne (Aus) 12


Ian Healy (Aus) 12

Rashid Latif (Pak) 9


Anil Kumble (Ind) 8

Chris Cairns (NZ) 6