Wales leave out famous names

Click to follow
The Independent Online
The Welsh international careers of Robert Jones and Mike Hall look to be over. Jones, capped 54 times at scrum-half, and centre Hall, the World Cup skipper, have both failed to make the first squad of the new coach, Kevin Bowring. A jumbo 42-player party has been named prepare for the international against Italy at Cardiff Arms Park on 16 January.

Fly-half Adrian Davies, lock Greg Prosser, prop Ricky Evans and back- row forward Stuart Davies are other notable absentees.

The absence of Jones could well prompt him to go through with a move to Harlequins, with whom he has already signed provisional forms and is sitting out his 120-day qualification period.

"We haven't closed the door on anyone," Bowring insisted. "Robert has been very loyal and a terrific player for Wales in the past and now we are looking to some of these players for the future."

While Jones misses out, Bowring has sent recall messages to Gareth Llewellyn and Emyr Lewis, and there are call-ups for 15 uncapped players, including Bristol-based fly-half Arwel Thomas.

WALES SQUAD (v Italy, 16 January, Cardiff Arms Park): Backs: J Thomas (Llanelli), I Evans (Llanelli), W Proctor (Llanelli), S Hill (Cardfif), A Harris (Swansea), G Evans (Llanelli), G Thomas (Bridgend), L Davies (Neath), D Evans (Treorchy), M Wintle (Llanelli), M Taylor (Swansea), N Jenkins (Pontypridd), A Thomas (Bristol), M Lewis (Bridgend), A Moore (Cardiff), R Howley (Bridgend), P John (Pontypridd). Forwards: A Lewis (Cardiff), C Loader (Swansea), J Davies (Neath), L Mustoe (Cardiff), S John (Llanelli), C Anthony (Swansea), J Humphreys (Cardiff), G Jenkins (Swansea), R McBryde (Llanelli), D Jones (Cardiff), A Moore (Swansea), G Llewellyn (Neath), M Voyle (Newport), P Jones (Llanelli), H Taylor (Cardiff), S Williams (Neath), O Williams (Cardiff), E Lewis (Cardiff), A Gibbs (Newbridge), C Quinnell (Llanelli), M Spiller (Pontypridd), M Bennett (Cardiff), R Appleyard (Swansea), G Jones (Llanelli), C Scott (Neath).

HEINEKEN CUP Semi-finals (30 Dec): Leinster v Cardiff (Lansdowne Road, Dublin, 1.30pm), Toulouse v Swansea (Les Sept-Deniers, 2 pm). Final (7 Jan): Cardiff Arms Park 1.30pm