Zimbabwe have no answer to Wasim

Click to follow
Zimbabwe 133 & 200 Pakistan 267 & 69-0

Pakistan's pace trio of Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis and Shahid Nazir destroyed Zimbabwe's second innings to set up a 10-wicket victory in the second and final Test in Faisalabad on Saturday.

Wasim Akram, the Pakistan captain, finished with a match haul of 10 for 105 as Pakistan won before tea on the third day to clinch the short series 1-0.

The Lancashire all-rounder, who dominated the series with a career-best 257 and a haul of 11 wickets in the drawn first Test, was voted man of the match.

Zimbabwe, 134 behind on first innings, collapsed from their overnight 136 for 3 to 200 all out, with Wasim finishing with 4 for 57, Waqar 4 for 54 and Shahid 2 for 25.

Saeed Anwar and Aamir Sohail comfortably scored the 67 required, the former hitting the winning four off Bryan Strang. Saeed struck nine fours to finish on exactly 50.

"We played positive cricket and the team fought very well," Wasim said. "It was a good pitch and, the way the Zimbabweans batted yesterday, I thought we might have to work hard, but we got two quick wickets."

The two teams now play a three-match one-day series with the first game in Quetta on Wednesday.

Third day; Zimbabwe won toss

ZIMBABWE - First Innings - 133 (A Flower 61; Wasim Akram 6-48).

PAKISTAN - First Innings 267 (Saeed Anwar 81, Moin Khan 58).

ZIMBABWE - Second Innings

(Friday: 136 for 3)

D L Houghton lbw Wasim 74

*A D R Campbell c Moin b Shahid 51

A Flower c Saeed b Waqar 23

G J Whittal lbw Shahid 0

P A Strang b Waqar 9

B C Strang not out 13

E Matambanadzo b Wasim 7

M Mbangwa lbw Wasim 2

Extras (lb 8, nb 6) 14

Total (57.4 overs) 200

Fall (cont): 4-136, 5-136, 6-140, 7-169, 8-174, 9-198.

Bowling: Wasim Akram 18.4-4-58-4 (nb1); Waqar Younis 15-3-54-4; Saqlain Mushtaq 7-1-33-0; Shahid Nazeer 11-5-25-2; Mohammed Hussain 4-1-14-0; Salim Malik 2-0-8-0.

PAKISTAN - Second Innings

Saeed Anwar not out 50

Aamer Sohail not out 18

Extras (w1) 1

Total (for 0, 18.5 overs) 69

Bowling: Matambanadzo 5-0-27-0; Mbangwa 7-3-14-0; B C Strang 4.5-1-20- 0; P A Strang 2-0-8-0.

Umpires: Mehbood Shah and D Cowie (NZ).