Autumn sun: There's still time to hit the beach

Where can you grab some sunshine without going long haul? Ian McCurrach offers ideas for a warm break closer to home
Click to follow
The Independent Travel

CYPRUS

Guaranteed sunshine is only four and a half hours away. Pick up deals at upmarket hotels such as Almyra (almyra.com) or Anassa (thanoshotels.com) or opt for big bargains in out-of-season Agia Napa.

The deal: Olympic Holidays (0870 429 4242; olympicholidays.com) offers a seven-night half-board break at the four-star Melissi Beach Hotel, Agia Napa, for £425 per person, based on two sharing, including return flights and transfers. Departs 14 October.

Or try: Erna Low Body & Soul (020-7594 0290; bodyandsoul holidays.com), Meon Villas (0870 901 4011; meonvillas.co.uk), Hoseasons Villas (0870 526 2262; hoseasonsvillas. com), Simply Travel (0870 166 4988; simplytravel.co.uk), Premier Holidays (0800 047 0400; premier-holidays.com), First Choice Holidays (0871 664 9020; first choice.co.uk), Responsible Travel (01273 600030; responsibletravel.com).



MOROCCO

Join the fashion set that favours Marrakesh when the crowds have gone but the rays are still strong. Base yourself at one of the many riads, such as Riad Omar, a traditional property with 24 rooms a stone's throw from the centre of town.

The deal: Hotel Connect (0845 230 8888; hotel connect.co.uk) offers a seven-night half-board break at the three-star Riad Omar in Marrakesh from £161 per person, based on two sharing, excluding flights. Fly from Gatwick with easyJet (easyjet.com), which has return fares to Marrakesh in October from £146. Atlas Blue (atlas-blue.com) offers return flights from Gatwick from £110.

Or try: Erna Low Body & Soul (020-7594 0290; bodyandsoulholidays. com), Simply Travel (0870 166 4988; simplytravel.co.uk), First Choice Holidays (0871 664 9020; firstchoice.co.uk), Responsible Travel (01273 600030; responsible travel.com), The Best of Morocco (0845 026 4588; realmorocco.com).



TUNISIA

Hammamet is Tunisia's answer to St Tropez, thanks to its upmarket bars, restaurants and boutiques. Seasonably sunny and warm, October days are lazy affairs watching the brightly painted fisherman's boats setting out from the port overlooked by the medina and Hammamet's ancient fort.

The deal: Tunisia First (01276 600100; tunisia first.co.uk) offers a seven-night b&b break from £469 per person, based on two sharing, at the five-star Hotel Sindbad in Hammamet, including return flights from Heathrow and transfers until 16 October.

Or try: First Choice Holidays (0871 664 9020; first choice.co.uk), Responsible Travel (01273 600030; responsibletravel.com), Explore (0870 333 4001; explore.co.uk), Cosmos Holidays (0871 622 4317; cosmos.co.uk).

MALTA

Although tarnished with a bargain package image, Malta has much to offer. Explore more than 6,500 years of history and its unique blend of English, Italian and Arabic culture. And then there's the balmy year-round sunshine.

The deal: Malta Direct (0845 604 0035; malta direct.com) offers a seven-night b&b break at the two-star Hotel Roma in Sliema and Kappara from £249 per person, based on two sharing, including flights from Gatwick and transfers. Departs 13 October.

Or try: Holiday Discount Centre (0870 055 9052; holidaydiscountcentre. co.uk), Meon Villas (0870 901 4011; meonvillas.co.uk), Hoseasons Villas (0870 526 2262; hoseasonsvillas.com), Premier Holidays (0800 047 0400; premier-holidays.com), First Choice Holidays (0871 664 9020; first choice.co.uk), Responsible Travel (01273 600030; responsibletravel.com), James Villas (0870 085 0722; jamesvillas.co.uk).

CANARY ISLANDS

Opt for Tenerife, with its great beaches, nearly 200 volcanoes, Spain's highest mountain, El Teide, and tropical forests. The capital, Santa Cruz, is now topped with Calatrava's soaring Auditorium. Also consider Lanzarote and Gran Canaria.

The deal: You Travel (0871 750 6481; youtravel.com) offers a seven-night all-inclusive break at the five-star Marylanza Golf Resort and Spa near Playa de la Americas in Tenerife from £449 per person, based on two sharing, including flights from Gatwick. Departs 5 October.

Or try: Meon Villas (0870 901 4011; meonvillas. co.uk), Hoseasons Villas (0870 526 2262; hoseasons villas.co.uk), Premier Holidays (0800 047 0400; premier-holidays. com), First Choice Holidays (0871 664 9020; firstchoice.co.uk), Responsible Travel (01273 600030; responsibletravel.com).



SEVILLE & ANDALUCIA

While southern Spain is too hot to visit in midsummer, October days are still exotically warm and scented with oranges. The highlights include the romantic Moorish Alcazar, the cathedral and the Santa Cruz neighbourhood with its winding ancient alleyways. The whole of Andalucia is also on your doorstep.

The deal: Cities Direct (01242 536900; cities direct.co.uk) offers a five-night b&b break at the four-star Hotel Catalonia Emperador Trajano for £289 per person, based on two sharing, including return flights from Stansted. Departs 12 October.

Or try: Simply Travel (0870 166 4988; simplytravel. co.uk), Premier Holidays (0800 047 0400; premier-holidays.com), First Choice Holidays (0871 664 9020; firstchoice.co.uk), Responsible Travel (01273 600030; responsibletravel.com), Cosmos Holidays (0871 622 4317; cosmos.co.uk).

Comments