London Heathrow and Amsterdam Schiphol airports have reopened following further closures due to the volcanic ash cloud.

Until 19:00 UTC a, no-fly zone remains in place in parts of British airspace, according to air traffic control authority NATS, meaning that Belfast City, Londonderry, Kirkwall and Stornoway airports will remain closed.

Despite the reopening of Heathrow, one of the world's busiest airports, authorities have warned disruption is likely to continue in the greater London area for some time.

The ash is now expected to disperse somewhat, according to European air traffic control authority Eurocontrol, although the volcano is still erupting.

More information:

Irish Aviation Authority
National Air Traffic Services
Met Office Volcanic Ash Advisory Centres