Ten top spring festivals

1 Germany

The Liszt 2011 festival (liszt-2011.com), for the composer's bicentenary, starts today. The website has ideas on where to stay.

2 Budapest

The Budapest Spring Festival (festivalcity.hu), 18 March-3 April, mixes classical and jazz concerts. Avalon Cruises (avaloncruises.co.uk) offers 15-day trips taking in the festival, from £2,195.

3 Tallinn

The European Capital of Culture hosts the spring festival Estonian Music Days, 21-26 March. For details and where to stay, see Tourism Tallinn (tourism.tallinn.ee).

4 Birmingham

From 23-27 March, the Flatpack Festival (flatpack festival.org.uk) showcases psychedelic animation, experimental film, and home movies. For accommodation, contact Visit Birmingham (visitbirmingham.com).

5 St Petersburg

Ballet dancers from around the world will converge on the Russian city for Dance Open (danceopen.com), for the week starting 28 March. Kirker Holidays (kirkerholidays.com) is offering three nights from £998.

6 Barcelona

From bars to concert halls, join in the 21st Barcelona Guitar Festival (theproject.es), 1 April-21 May. Contact the Spanish Tourist Board (spain.info) for where to stay.

7 St Lucia

John Legend headlines the St Lucia Jazz Festival (stlucia jazz.org), 30 April-8 May. Virgin Holidays (virginholidays.co.uk) has seven nights at Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa (smugglersresort .com) from £1,071.

8 Brighton

In May, check out the 45th Brighton Festival, the Brighton Fringe Festival, the 30th Artists Open Houses, and the Great Escape Music Festival. For details and where to stay, go to Visit Brighton (visitbrighton.com).

9 Britain

Galleries and museums will open after dark for Museums at Night (museumsatnight.org.uk), 13-15 May. For where to stay, contact the local tourist board.

10 Reykjavik

World music stars Ojos de Brujo are among the acts at the Reykjavik Arts Festival (listahatid.is), 20 May to 5 June. Iceland Express (expresstravel.is) has a weekend from £420.