The Hateful Eight: Here’s what’s on Quentin Tarantino’s next soundtrack

A key Spaghetti Western composer has written the score

Christopher Hooton
Friday 20 November 2015 10:07

From the sinister use of ‘Stuck in the Middle with You’ in Reservoir Dogs to his spectacular find that was the’s in Kill Bill, music has always been crucial to Tarantino movies.

It’s quite exciting then, that we now have the tracklisting for the soundtrack to his next film, The Hateful Eight, providing some hints as to its tone.

The score by Ennio Morricone (The Good, The Bad and the Ugly) takes up the bulk of the Decca Records release, but there are also some conventional modern songs thrown in, including The White Stripes’ ‘Apple Blossom’ and Roy Orbison’s ‘There Won’t Be Many Coming Home’.

The Hateful Eight - Trailer 2

Snippets of dialogue also feature, from the film’s ensemble cast which consists of Samuel L. Jackson, Kurt Russell, Walton Goggins, Jennifer Jason Leigh, Tim Roth, Michael Madsen, Bruce Dern, Demian Bichir and Channing Tatum.

Set in wintry Wyoming as a storm overtakes a stagecoach on a mountainside stopover, The Hateful Eight will open in cinemas on 25 December, 2015.

Soundtrack tracklisting:

1. L’ultima diligenza di red rock

2. Ouverture

3. Major Warren Meet Daisy Domergue – Jennifer Jason Leigh

4. Narratore letterario

5. Apple Blossom – The White Stripes

6. Frontier Justice – Tim Roth

7. L’ultima diligenza di red rock

8. Neve

9. This Here Is Daisy Domergue – Kurt Russell

10. Sei cavalli

11. Raggi di sole sulla montagna

12. Son of the Bloody N**ger Kller of Baton Rouge – Samuel l. Jackson

13. Jim Jones at Botany Bay – Jennifer Jason Leigh

14. Neve

15. Uncle Charlie’s Stew – Samuel l. Jackson

16. I quattro passeggeri

17. La musica prima del massacro

18. L’inferno bianco

19. The Suggestive Oswaldo Mobray – Tim Roth

20. Now You’re All Alone – David Hess

21. Sangue e neve

22. L’inferno bianco

23. Neve

24. Daisy’s Speech – Walton Goggins

25. La lettera di lincoln

26. La lettera di lincoln

27. There Won’t Be Many Coming Home – Roy Orbison

28. La puntura della morte

Join our new commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies

View comments