Guitar greats honoured at Mojo music awards

Anthony Barnes,Press Association
Friday 11 June 2010 12:24 BST

A trio of guitar greats - Jimmy Page, Duane Eddy and Richard Thompson - were honoured tonight for their inspirational contribution at a major music awards event.

The musicians, each a master of rock and roll, were given recognition at the Mojo Honours at a ceremony in London.

Other major winners included Kasabian, whose track Fire was named song of the year, and Richard Hawley, who took the best album prize for Truelove's Gutter.

The event also saw the former chart act Teardrop Explodes partially reunite for the first time in 28 years after falling apart acrimoniously.

And 21 years after the release of The Stone Roses' acclaimed debut was released, it was rewarded for its "classic album" status.

The awards, from music magazine Mojo, largely honour classic acts with host of honorary titles.

Former Led Zeppelin guitarist Page - creator of killer riffs such as Whole Lotta Love - was inducted into the Mojo Hall Of Fame. He went from session work to a stint in The Yardbirds before forming Led Zep, becoming one of the most lauded players of all time.

Eddy, known for his signature twangy style on tracks such as Peter Gunn, was named Mojo Icon.

And Thompson, one of the pioneers of folk rock from his Fairport Convention days onwards, took the magazine's Les Paul award, given to a guitar legend. Thompson, whose 1000 Years Of Popular Music live show notably includes songs dating from the 11th century to a Britney Spears cover, is currently curating the Meltdown festival at London's South Bank.

Keyboard player Jean Michel Jarre, who scored chart hits with his synthesiser instrumentals such as Oxygene IV, took the lifetime achievement award.

Former Soft Cell frontman Marc Almond was named Mojo Hero as he celebrates his 30th year as a singer this year. Almond achieved a run of hits with musical partner Dave Ball in the early 80s, such as Tainted Love and Bedsitter, before going solo with songs like Jacky and The Days Of Pearly Spencer.

Amazon Music logo

Enjoy unlimited access to 70 million ad-free songs and podcasts with Amazon Music

Sign up now for a 30-day free trial

Sign up
Amazon Music logo

Enjoy unlimited access to 70 million ad-free songs and podcasts with Amazon Music

Sign up now for a 30-day free trial

Sign up

Another figure associated with the 80s, Daniel Miller - founder of Mute Records whose roster included Depeche Mode, Yazoo and Erasure - was awarded the Mojo Medal.

Other winners from that decade include The Teardrop Explodes, the band fronted by Julian Cope whose hits included Treason, Reward and Passionate Friend.

Members Gary Dwyer, David Balfe and Alan Gill were reunited for the first time since the line-up fell apart in 1982 to collect their Mojo Inspiration award. Cope, who went on to solo success, as well as becoming an eminent authority on monoliths, had been due to attend but failed to show at the last moment.

Explaining the 80s theme, editor in chief Phil Alexander said: "The aspects of the 80s we chose to celebrate at the Mojo Honours List reflect the genuine innovation of that period - and I think you sense that the best music made at that time has had a genuine impact on the musicians of today, in the same way that the '60s and '70s did previously.

Atmospheric Icelandic band Sigur Ros were rewarded for their outstanding contribution to music, while Roy Wood - who achieved chart success with The Move and Wizzard - was honoured as Classic Songwriter.

Space-rock veterans Hawkwind, whose career has lasted more than 40 years, were named Mojo Mavericks.

The full Mojo Honours List is as follows:

:: Mojo Breakthrough Act - The Low Anthem

:: Mojo Vision Award - Oil City Confidential (film about Dr Feelgood, directed by Julien Temple)

:: Mojo Medal - Daniel Miller (Mute Records)

:: Mojo Maverick Award - Hawkwind

:: Mojo Best Live Act - Midlake

:: Mojo Compilation of The Year - Amorphous Androgynous

:: Mojo Merit - Devo

:: Mojo Classic Album Award - The Stone Roses, The Stone Roses

:: Mojo Catalogue Release Of The Year - The Beatles (for last year's remastered albums)

:: Mojo Roots Award - Kate And Anna McGarrigle

:: Mojo Hero Award - Marc Almond

:: Mojo Classic Songwriter Award - Roy Wood

:: Mojo Best Album - Richard Hawley, Truelove's Gutter

:: Mojo Outstanding Contribution To Music - Sigur Ros

:: Mojo Les Paul Award - Richard Thompson

:: Mojo Inspiration Award - Teardrop Explodes

:: Mojo Lifetime Achievement Award - Jean-Michel Jarre

:: Mojo Song of the Year - Kasabian, Fire

:: Mojo Icon Award - Duane Eddy

:: Mojo Hall Of Fame - Jimmy Page

Join our commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies


Thank you for registering

Please refresh the page or navigate to another page on the site to be automatically logged inPlease refresh your browser to be logged in