Jaden Smith releases new album Erys featuring Tyler, the Creator and A$AP Rocky

Record is the follow-up to the rapper's acclaimed debut, Syre

Roisin O'Connor
Music Correspondent
Friday 05 July 2019 07:14
Jaden Smith album trailer

Jaden, who previously went by the artist name Jaden Smith, has released his new album Erys featuring a number of high-profile features.

The 17-track record was released today (5 July) via MSFTS Music/Roc Nation/Republic Records.

Among the featured artists are his sister Willow, Tyler, the Creator, Kid Cudi, A$AP Rocky and Trinidad James. The album follows his 2017 studio album, Syre.

Smith revealed the album’s new single “Again” during an interview on Zane Lowe’s Beats 1 show on Apple Music.

He described his two albums as having different personalities: “Syre is the nice one, kind of the more sensitive one,” he explained. “And Erys is just kind of like, don’t really care at all.”

“I got Tyler’s verse so last minute, like right at the deadline of the album,” he said of the fellow rapper’s contribution, then referring to Kid Cudi as his favourite artist: “Something that people don’t know is me and Cudi have been making songs together since before I released my first project. He’s kind of been mentoring me my entire exploration through music.”

See the full tracklist below:

1. “P”
2. “I”
3. “N”
4. “K”
5. “Noize” featuring Tyler, the Creator
6. “i-drip-or-is”
7. “Again” featuring Syre​
8. “Got It”
9. “Fire Dept”
10. “Mission” featuring Trinidad James
11. “Summertime in Paris” featuring Willow
12. “Blackout”
13. “Pain”
14. “Chateau” featuring A$AP Rocky
15. “On My Own” featuring Kid Cudi​
16. “Riot”
17. “Erys”

Erys is available to stream on all major services including Spotify and Apple Music.

Join our new commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies

View comments