Liberal Democrat leadership contest date is announced

The defeated party will have a new leader by July 16th

The Liberal Democrats will have a new leader by 16 July.

Mark Pack, who ran the party’s internet campaign in 2001 and 2005, announced on his blog the timeline for the contest:

Opening of nominations: 13th of May 2015

Close of nominations: 3rd of June 2015

Dispatch of ballot papers: 24th of June 2015

Deadline for ballot papers to be returned: 15th of July 2015

Count and declaration of the winner: 16th of July 2015

Current predictions say it will be a two-way race between former care minister Norman Lamb and Lib Dem President Tim Farron after other possible contenders, including Jo Swinson, Vince Cable and Ed Davey, were all thrown out of parliament on Thursday.

Join our new commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies

View comments