Cara Amal
Cara Amal

Amal Clooney and Cara Delevingne face off for the British Fashion Council's Style award

The nominations for the British Fashion Awards Style Award were announced this morning.

Emma Akbareian
Wednesday 29 October 2014 16:10

Cara Delevingne, Emma Watson and Amal Clooney are among the names shortlisted to receive this year's British Style Award.

The award "recognises an individual who most embodies the spirit of British fashion and is an international ambassador for London as a leading creative fashion capital."

The shortlist includes 20 nominees; 10 men and 10 women.

For the men the list includes the likes of Benedict Cumberbatch, David Beckham, Douglas Booth and Tinie Tempah.

The women's list encompasses a rather more eclectic line up with Amal Clooney, FKA Twigs, Kate Bush and Helen Mirren among the nominees.

Last year's award was won by Harry Styles. Previous year's winners include Alexa Chung who has been given the accolade on multiple occasions.

The British Fashion Awards is an annual event which celebrates the very best in British fashion. The categories recognise key designers, brands, models and campaigns.

The Style Award is voted for by the public with Wednesday 5th November the deadline to cast votes at

The winner will be announced at the British Fashion awards ceremony which is taking place on Monday 1st December and the London Coliseum.

Join our new commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies

View comments